30
Apr
10

Falling in Love with your best friend

They dealt with the Straight Girl Crushes but what to do when you fall in love with your best gay/bi friend? Jessica and Lacey talk out the different ways to handle it and move forward. This also always to you straighties that fall in love with your besties too 🙂

If you can’t view this on facebook please log onto – http://www.afterellen.com/blog/karmankregloe/video-lacey-jessica-lesbian-love-episode-25

5 Responses to “Falling in Love with your best friend”


  1. May 1, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    I love this video by the way, one of my LL faves. For me, if you’re really friends you will stay friends after you tell her that you like or love her. being honest about your feeling will go a long way, for me it doesnt matter if that friend will love me back or will not but that’s important is that you tell her that you love her. And if what you have is a genuine friendship then your friend will understand and it wont get in the way of you two being friends.

  2. 2 Megan
    May 1, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    This sounds so familiar, haha 🙂

    I once was in love with my best friend. I did everything for her…I mean not in a subservient way, but I was always there for her, I cooked for her, took her out to dinner, blablabla
    Anyway, my best friend was gay and I was her straight girlfriend. When I first met her, one of the first things she said to me was: listen you must know I’m gay….and then after a couple of drinks she said she loved to hang out with straight people and that she almost never became close to gay girlfriends (friendship based). So yes, we started hanging out…we were constantly together and knew everything about each other (except that one BIG thing that no one knew the fact that I’m bisexual).
    My friend has a kind of weird personality, anyone who knew her too started asking me :”How did you became friends with her? She’s beautiful, but so so coy.” And they were right, she was…but when she was with me, she was entirely the opposite. She was relaxed and all so my mind started thinking that I made her feel safe and that it might evolve into something more in time.
    To make a long story very short. One evening we went to a bar and a couple of her gay acquaintances were there too. I didn’t knew any of them. Then there was this girl that came up to her. She told me once about her that they had “something” going on 2 years ago, but that the other girl (the intruder ;)) just started a relationship at that time and out of respect for that girl’s gf, they didn’t went for it. SO apparently the girl that came up to her just broke up with her girlfriend a week ago and I could see the lust in her eyes for my best friend. I felt that my best friend was behaving different too and noticed that she still had the hots for that woman. It was getting late so I said to her that I was leaving. I asked her if I had to drive her home, but she said she’d like to stay. I told her a little disappointed: “ok, but watch out with what you’re doing” and she said: “I will” and she winked to comfort me. That night I went home, I couldn’t get it out my mind. But I eased myself by telling that she couldn’t be that cheap to get it on with that girl. (She always said to me that people had to deserve her which comes along with time), but damn they already had a little history together 🙂
    The next morning she passed by my house, plunked herself on my couch and said: “We kissed last night and she stayed overnight.” She also told me she was scared and didn’t knew what to expect….

    I barely knew what I was doing anymore and I dropped the glass that I held in my hand.
    I couldn’t bring out one simple word. So I smiled sheepish and said: “I think you can do better than that” haha :)…”but I’m happy for you.”

    They ended up being a couple and our close friendship faded into a regular one. It was hard for me, but I said I was happy for her and in some way I really was, because I saw that she revived. To get her out of my mind I started to hang out with other friends and some of her acquaintances that asked my number that notorious terrible night. Some of them tried getting it on, but I didn’t came out to them either, because my former best friend would feel betrayed and I was only in love with her.

    Now we still meet each other every 3 months, because she’s constantly with her girlfriend. They are glued together I guess. She doesn’t like it that we see each other that little, but I’m glad I have to travel a lot for work so I can blame it on that.

    I’m completely over her now. It took a long time though. Starting by quitting to check her facebook-profile, forgetting her phone number and avoiding listening to ‘our’ favourite songs 😉
    Maybe if I told her, things would be different. I guess she only saw me as her straight girlfriend and she drew the line. And I know she would never cross that line, because she’s too proud and stubborn.

    I probably should start working on my coming out. Not that I’m so deep in the closed. My close friends catch me sometimes doing stuff with a girl on parties, but I always come away with it by looking too damn straight.

    Thank you both for doing this 🙂

    Love,

    Megan

  3. 3 eloise
    May 1, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    “jassica and lacey talks about” then who’s writing then?? introduce yourself!! bad bad bad, the i tough the couple was writing themselves. maybe this vblog is not that good.

  4. 4 Anonymous
    May 4, 2010 at 3:44 am

    You two are like a comedy act….crack me upppp! i love it!

    you both made some very good points about being in love w/the bff and whether or not you bite the big one and tell them, or not….or just happen to give them a random boob grab and see what happens 😉

    I think, bottom line, if you DO decide to disclose your undying love for them, you’ve gotta be prepared to completely lose them, as well as lose your group of friends. you’ve gotta think one step ahead- say you DO end up having a relationship with them, thats great! however, are you willing to deal w/the consequences of potentially breaking up with them. its risking your friendship w/that person, and with the mutual friends you have.
    if you’re willing to put it ALL on the line, go for it.
    if not, hold back.

    and thatsssss all i have to say!

    🙂

    boston lovin,
    michelle

  5. 5 Danni
    May 17, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    This is pretty much the story of my entire life. I’ve got a bad habit for falling for people I’m close to. I’ll spare you the details, but the growing apart thing works wonders. Find three things, and you can definitely get away. I’ve found the dating other people theory doesn’t work as well because you’re always looking/hoping for hints that the person you’re in love with will be jealous, and it doesn’t give these other persons even a semblance of a fair chance to really be with you. As far as the forthright confession goes…I don’t know, I’ve never really tried it. I have made a couple of CD’s, though. This video was helpful, I think I’m getting over it now.

    Thanks
    Danni


Leave a Reply

Categories