29
Mar
10

Being Gay in a Straight World

Jessica & Lacey talk about what it’s like to be different in a society that doesn’t always understand what it feels like to be gay.

7 Responses to “Being Gay in a Straight World”


  1. 1 Emptyinbetween
    March 30, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Well being in a relationship with someone of the same sex is well rather convenient in situations where for example mixed sex accomodation is not a given (schools, camps, sleepovers etc) or even not allowed.. But then again, if they knew about 2 girls getting it on “under their noses”, it would be frowned upon. But still fun and exciting huh!

    And like someone mentioned on AE, guys that have a crush on you can be pretty damn exhausting as some of them have a hard time believing you’re just not into men (=them). But they also seem to think (straights in general?) that you’re attracted to all the gay women around you – or like you said, all the women around you.

  2. 2 Nancy
    April 1, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    In general it’s difficult being gay in a straight world, but I think the difficulty changes based on the personality of the gay person. There are courageous, artsy, outgoing, sensitive, shy, traditional, geeky, political, creative people out there. Then you add the Gay element.

  3. 3 Annette
    April 14, 2010 at 3:02 am

    A fun thing: Most love songs are written/sung by straight men about/to their women lovers. So those same love songs have great lyrics for lesbians, too. 🙂

    Not so fun thing: Worrying that if you tell your friends you’re gay, they will fear having you around their kids. Like you’ll turn their kids gay or worse – they’ll think you’re a pervert. This happened to me. My friend didn’t want me around her house or her daughters anymore because she felt she had to “protect” her family. We’re no longer friends. 😦

  4. 4 J
    June 6, 2010 at 12:29 am

    Hey Lacey and Jessica, firstly I just wanna say thank you so much for your videos, they’re amazing and I’ve seen most of them but for some reason this particular one resonated with me the most.

    I’m still a baby and working things out but if you looked at me you wouldn’t suspect anything at all (I definitely know how Jessica must have felt!). When I told one of my gay guy friends, even he didn’t know, and he’s supposed to have a very sophistacated gaydar!

    My point is, I have quite a lot of female friends, and as far as I know ALL of them are straight. I’ve only been in college for a year, so they’re quite new friends, so I definitely don’t feel ready to say anything. The thing is, we end up doing things like getting changed in the same room and asking about outfits, and I know I should say something but I just can’t tell them that I don’t feel completely comfortable with it because I totally know it would change everything. It’s the locker room situation!

    It’s not that I’m attracted to them in that way, but it’s still a little difficult, I don’t want to be ejected from the group, they’re not homophobic or anything like that, but they’ll probably react in the typical ‘straight way’, “is she attracted to me?… I don’t think we should hang out like this anymore” or “no? why not?”. I guess I’m just going to have to work things out within myself, and wait until it’s the right time, like you said.

    Anyways, sorry for the life story, thank you again, you guys are awesome!

  5. 5 sky
    June 12, 2011 at 2:14 am

    Hey I am basically in the same situation, the figuring things out for myself. You said you were in college, what area?

  6. July 20, 2013 at 2:35 am

    you’re actually a just right webmaster. The site loading velocity is amazing. It seems that you’re
    doing any distinctive trick. In addition, The contents are masterpiece.

    you have done a excellent activity in this subject!

  7. August 12, 2013 at 1:55 am

    Minecraft’s founder, the current video gaming superstar known as “Notch” has prompted players who
    want to try out Minecraft multi player to just use
    our Minecraft download.


Leave a Reply

Categories