28
Jan
10

What Kind of Gay are you? hhhmmmm

Lacey and Jessica discuss how we as women choose to define ourselves within the LGBT community and to the wider world… And whether it is a desirable thing to do.

If you are having trouble viewing this on Facebook just click http://www.vimeo.com/8815753

3 Responses to “What Kind of Gay are you? hhhmmmm”


  1. February 3, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    All sorts of bad things happen when we try to conform to the restrictions of a label. I have a love/hate relationship with labels. On one hand, I do not want to confine myself to some generalization that barley describes who I am. However, something that I find difficult is it is hard to feel like a part of a lesbian community sometimes unless you really fulfill one of those stereotypes. For example, when I walk down the street, I can guarantee you that not one lesbian looks at me and think I am a lesbian. I wear dresses and skirts and am usually pushing a giant double stroller with twins in it, which means, to most of America and even some in the gay community, I do not look like the stereotypical lesbian, and that can be isolating. Even at lesbian bars, people have asked if I was just there with a friend. At times I have struggled with should I cut my hair? Do I need to dress in a different way? Must I wear a thumb ring? My wife, however, you can tell. She is not a 100 footer, but there is something in the way she looks and dresses and carries herself that screams lesbian. For me, it is more of a whisper. Yet I am happy that the lesbian community is soooo diverse and encompasses people from kd lang to Portia to Ellen to the rest of us. Maybe there needs to be a special handshake!

  2. 2 Nancy
    February 4, 2010 at 2:58 am

    Nice video. Light yet informative. Sometimes it’s frustrating when the chance is taken to be out there in the gay community and then feeling gay people judging me about how gay and open I am. Maybe they have good reason. You two eased my mind and heart when you said just be who you are.

  3. March 2, 2010 at 5:22 am

    Thank you guys sooo much for publishing this video! Seriousely, it was nessacery in my life right now! I’m 16 and still in that am I am bi or am I gay phase. And I’m in an area where gay ppl. are practically unheard of. There are NO out gay ppl. in my high school, so it’s all very tough for me, struggling with what I am. Deep down I know that I like women, and it’s taken me forever to accept that, but I have no way to experiment with my identity in the gay community, or even experiment with other women? I mean I look and act completely straight, and no ones knows except for a few close friends. I want so bad to meet other gay women and see what their expierences have been like being a lesbian, but I have no way of meeting other women like that. So your show has been an amazing eye-opening thing for me, thanks 🙂 I plan on going to NYC for college, I guess I’ll have to wait until then to actually try it out?


Leave a Reply

Categories