20
Oct
09

Training Lacey-STYLE! :)

laceystone NIKE interview Picture

BY SARINAMORALES / 21 SEPTEMBER 2009 / 04:30 PM

As a New Yorker, time is everything. We run around like we have our heads cut off. Where are we going? What am I doing? I have class, work and a party at eight. No time to eat, I’ll grab it on the go. Where is there time for fitness?

With a tight schedule, it’s difficult to think you could actually squeeze in time for a good workout session, never mind getting to the gym. In an attempt to keep women on their feet, Nike threw an event at Paragon in New York City and invited fitness trainer, Lacey Stone, to lead an intense workout session. It was a workout I was prepared for, but had no clue what was in store. For those unfamiliar with Lacey’s workouts, you’re in for a surprise. Her whole concept of training revolves around teamwork, which is an interesting spin considering we often deem training to be a one-woman job. Let me tell you a little bit about Lacey Stone.

Super Trainer, Lacey Stone, has been in countless magazines and knows her way around the gym to say the least! She realizes we are all busy, but likes to set realistic goals for women. Let’s break it down. There are “365 days, there’s 7 days in a week, 24 hrs in a day. Lets plan it out,” she says. Her philosophy is, “Anything is possible. There are two sides to fitness, the mental and the physical.” The mental aspect of training is something often overlooked, but something she sees just as important as the physical. “If you’re not motivated, then your not going to be consistent. If you’re not consistent, you’re not going to see results.”

Truth be told, Lacey knows how to motivate the crowd; there were about 50 of us that came to work out and all 50 of us finished strong. Everyone stuck it through and I was impressed at how each person cheered on the next. We started off our work out with a mile run to the park. Then we rocked out a hard 40 minute workout, which consisted of everything from running, pushups, squats (my favorite), jumping squats (oh yes, another good one), lunges, the classic jumping jack and a bunch more that equated to one tired sore little ol’ me by the time I was done.

It’s all about putting the idea of teamwork back into our workouts. Grab a friend and push yourselves. Funny, by the end of the workout, I was not only able to run another mile back, but I felt more energized and excited I got my workout done for the day. Doing an hour workout seems like a lot to take out of your day, but speaking from experience, going hard for an hour will give you another two hours to do work later on. Trust me, your body will thank you. Lacey says “I want people doing their best every single day.” She sure got the best out of me.

-Sarina

For more of Sarina’s awesome posts log onto http://www.nike.com and click women/nfr 🙂 And to check out more of my events click – http://www.laceystonefitness.com/events.htm I’d love to have YOU next time!

0 Responses to “Training Lacey-STYLE! :)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories