08
Feb
09

Did Peter Pan have it right?

babylaceydisney (That’s Little Lacey at DisneyLand. I’m trying to find Mickey… I really wanted his autograph 🙂 )

This afternoon Jessica and I were walking our dog and came across a playground.  I asked her if we could stop and look at the kids playing on the swings 🙂   They were havin a JOLLY old time, sooo jolly it got me thinking…

 When I first moved to New York I wasn’t sure what I was going to be when I grew-up  🙂   I worked in television but it just didn’t feel right, ya know?  I wanted to have a career that I was passionate about, something I LOVED to do.  I saw the Top Executives at CBS Sports on a regular, they looked MISERABLE… I thought to myself –  “That’s what I’m working towards… miserableness?” YUCK.  I seriously considered quitting and getting the hell outta dodge on several occasions… But something was keeping me there?

I did some major soul searching during that time.  I came to the realization that I was pretty depressed in my life.  The thought of leaving CBS Sports, a career that was supposedly “glamorous,” forced me to ask myself some Hard-Core questions…

How did you get this way? Why did you get this way? Why aren’t you happy?

I remember something really POWERFUL that changed my life that year.  During that time of MISERABLENESS I went home for Christmas.  One evening I found myself upstairs in the family den looking through childhood photo albums. I studied myself in those albums… I was sooo happy doing my own thing back then. I asked the Little Lacey pictures why are you sooo happy…? What happened to me?  What happened to us?

And I got the answer from my little self.  She looked at me and said – “You stopped doing what you love, you tried to fit in, you stopped having fun, you grew up.”

When I went back to New York I immediately quit my job at CBS Sports and decided to go full-time as a Personal Trainer/Fitness Instructor at Equinox.  I was tired of doing what I was suppose to do and I wanted to do what my heart and my little self told me I must do.

I remember several years later looking in the mirror and seeing Little Lacey in my adult eyes… I thanked her for coming back and I promised her that I would never try to grow-up again…  🙂

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Did Peter Pan have it right?”


  1. 1 erin
    February 9, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    this is exactly what I’ve been thinking lately. I’d say right now, I’m not happy. but I can’t figure out what is making me unhappy. I’ve been trying to do some soul searching, but there are things that have to be done like pay rent so I can’t give it 100% percent. As hard as I am working and trying to figure myself out, I’ll be honest I can’t wait til its over with, and I can just be me doing something I love.

    anyways, as always perfect timing on this one, its great to read about someone who went through the same stuff and has it figured out and succeeded!

  2. 2 Kate T
    February 9, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    Lacey, that is the MOST poignant blog yet girl. Don’t ever forget how to play!!!!! I would recommend that EVERYONE who feels even slightly like LS did, goes and finds those pictures and studies them. I am BLESSED with the gift of working with children. They are the most INCREDIBLE creatures on the planet and if you look to them, I mean really observe, so many of our answers are right there…..in the relationships they form, in their imaginations, in the risks they take, the list could go on and on and on. Most importantly don’t ever lose sight of PLAYING!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You nailed it with this blog Stone! xo kt

  3. 3 Angelica
    February 9, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    i’ve been going through the same thing for the past 2 yrs. but now i know what i want to do (become a personal trainer with a Nutrition degree) but i don’t know how to go about starting it all up…aside from classes 🙂 great blog entry!

  4. February 10, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Kids RULE! Look in their eyes and you will see what it looks like to still believe anything’s possible. And if you’re a parent do whatever you can to help your child keep that belief…. Losing that belief is exactly what stops adults from going after their dreams… Keep your imagination alive, keep your wonder always.

    Angelica… 🙂 That’s a GREAT career, I think I might know a little something about that 🙂 Get certified first and then lets talk!

  5. February 24, 2009 at 5:19 am

    YES — thank you. I’m taking this “Creative Arts as a Therapeutic tool,” class. The Psych class talks a great deal about the importance of “PLAY,” and how as adults we often forget to stay one with ourselves. There’s a great deal of creativity involved with doing something one enjoys. I’m glad you found your place in life and you’re happy Lacey.

    I’m finding my place in life but as I like to say, “I’ve opened myself up trusting I’ll find a way.”


Leave a Reply

Categories