21
Jan
09

Let the sun shine.

sunflower

This photo was taken while I was working in Argentina recently very early in the morning as the sun came up.  Do you like my glamorous outfit? 🙂

I’ve always loved sunflowers, something about their determined cheerfulness and how they stand so tall and proud.  But I standing there in that field I was reminded of something that I had long forgotten.  Sunflowers are named after our sun not only because of their uncanny resemblance to that life giving ball of fire and flames in the sky, but because they unfailing turn themselves throughout the day to be facing the sun at all times.

It got me thinking that this was a useful and beautiful way for me to try and approach life.  The idea that no matter how dark and cloudy the day, somewhere the sun is shining; I just need to figure out how I can see it and swivel my perspective to feel the warmth again. 

Each and every one of us finds ourselves in the middle of a ‘bad day’ sometimes, when events pile up on top of accidental misfortunes, frustrations and other peoples projected unhappiness.  If I can feel myself starting to spiral into negative self-talk exacerbated by exhaustion I try to just STOP and take a moment.  Is there one thing, just one thing that has gone right today?  One thing that has made me smile or that I’m proud of myself for doing?  Just a little bit of sunshine please 🙂  

I know that it sometimes feels as though there is no light shining in a dark moment, and that to constantly seek the ‘silver lining’ is unrealistic.  I am not trying to say that we happiness is a constant state, or even that it should be.  I truly believe that there is darkness and light, and all the shades in between, and that this is part of the richness of life, part of how and why we appreciate the good times.  Even those sunflowers in the field experience nightfall and must wait for the dawn.  

Those hard times are when I actively think back and choose to remember other times in my life when things have been hard, when I’ve been sad, when I’ve felt unhealthy in my body or worried about money.  And I realize and remember that those times did pass, that things did get better, that the sun did come out again.  I realize that everything is cyclical for all of us: for the economy, for that 3lbs ‘time of the month’ weight gain, for those cold and grey January blues.  They pass. I was able to figure it out in the past and I will figure it out again. 

I; we are capable of anything we choose, if we want it enough and are prepared to work for it consistently.  Yesterday history was made.  Today the 44th President of the USA, Barack Obama woke up in the White House, a building that was partially constructed by black slaves.  To me it represents a nation of people turning towards the sun, seeking it out even in the darkest of economic times.

 So today I am going to try and be a sunflower 🙂 

9 Responses to “Let the sun shine.”


  1. 1 Angelica
    January 21, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    whenever i’m having a bad day, there’s always someone (stranger or friend) who will say something that always makes me smile. and they don’t even know i’m in a crappy mood 🙂 i had someone i hardly knew randomly hug me while i was at work, in an “employee only area.” stuff like that is unexpected & very much appreciated on a bad day.

    btw…your scarf makes your outfit “glamorous” 😉

  2. 2 Anonymous
    January 21, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    This was such a beautiful post. Thanks. It made my day better.

  3. 3 danielle
    January 21, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    This was such a beautiful post. Thanks. It made my day better.

  4. January 21, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    Hi Jessica & Lacey, I am a new subscriber. I met you both briefly at a Peak holiday party with my boyfriend Jaime Dreyer. We chatted a bit about your blog & I am happy to say I finally logged on & caught up with all your posts.

    I have to say when I met you both I was struck by your beauty. Not just the physical, both of you have this inner beauty that shines through. And after reading your blog this only confirms my suspicion. You are both beautiful human beings and your honesty, integrity and zest for life is evident here.

    Jessica, thank you for your post today. I was not having a good day and being reminded that the sun is always shining somewhere helped me to adjust my thinking & my mood. It is always nice to know that I am not alone & that even a “beautiful” model has her bad days!

  5. 5 Lissa
    January 21, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    I too try to be a sunflower and with enough of us, we can make an entire sprawling field 🙂 And it is not the scarf Sunshine, just shiny beautiful you. x

  6. 6 Kate T
    January 22, 2009 at 4:19 am

    Perhaps your best post yet! 🙂

  7. February 1, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    I love that picture of you Jessica. You look stunning! I think it’s always the smile that really sets it. 🙂 I’ll have to take your statement of “let the sunshine in” for myself. It’s always good to be reminded. Thank you for sharing. Reading what you (Jessica and Lacey) write really gets me to a better place. I know I’ve been a bit absent just things can get crazy sometimes and it’s hard to find oneself through it all. Thank you both for everything. This entry particularly really has helped me. Thank you! Makes me what to write again. Xoxoxo

  8. 8 rural
    March 24, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    I was looking for sunflowers … and you know what? I found one here 😉
    you look absolutely adorable !

  9. April 2, 2014 at 8:53 pm

    Hurrah, that’s what I was looking for, what a material!
    present here at this website, thanks admin of this web site.


Leave a Reply

Categories