18
Jan
09

HUNT it DOWN!

cw11_lacey1

Being Fearful of change, getting scared when you’re about to do something new, having doubts that you aren’t making the “right” decision… These are challenges every human being faces.

We can’t avoid it… It happens.  It’s the cycle of life.  Some days we feel on top of the world and other days we feel like nothing’s working.  BUT if we stay in the game long enough we realize that everything always comes full circle.  If we play by the rules and keep reaching for it… GOOD things will come our way eventually. It’s a law of nature.  If we break the rules and treat people like dirt some thing is going to come our way too.  Karma can be a REAL BI*$%#@ so watch out  🙂

These are MY Top 3 Tools For Battling Doubt

1.    I think every Individual on this planet should have their own personal Mission Statement.  What do you stand for as a human being?  When times get tough and I start doubting myself I know I can always go back to my personal statement to bring me strength. 

My Mission Statement – I stand for hope and possibility in my life and everyone else’s life.

So when a friend comes to me and is looking for advice I always know how to respond.  I never doubt it… I’m there to support them in whatever they want to become.  When I doubt myself, I go back to my mission statement and I remember I can’t doubt myself because I stand for hope and possibility.  If I can remember to never lose hope than I can be, do, or have anything.

2.    After you know what you stand for I think it’s important to write down what it is you want out of life. What do you want? What are you goals?  It’s important to make a list of crazy goals, goals you have trouble writing down because they’re so BIG. Goals that you have to whisper at first because they make you blush 🙂  After you write those goals down I believe it’s KEY to write down WWHHHYYYYYYYY you want them?

I was talking to my friend the other day and she kept repeating the phrase… “I want to be rich, I want millions.”  And I was like… yeah, get in line sistah! 🙂  No no, I said why do you want to be rich?  And she said then I could spend more time with my husband.  And I said… you don’t need to be rich to spend more time with your husband you can do that now?  Then she said I want to travel more… And I said… You don’t have to be rich to travel more you can travel right now? 

Once you figure out your dreams/goals it’s important to have an understanding of why you want them. People think that being Rich is the answer to their prayers.  But having lots of money doesn’t always make you “rich.” 

Here’s one of my favorite quotes – “No man is a failure who is enjoying his life.” Being RICH is a feeling; you can be rich without lots of money.  I feel like I’m rich and I’m by no means a millionaire, yet 🙂   But what I’m saying is that just because you have lots of money in the bank you won’t automatically be happy.  BE RICH NOW.  Travel now, figure out what you want to do if you have millions of dollars and start doing it now!  That will make you feel rich I promise.  It will bring back the passion in your life and a smile to your face.

For me one of my big goals is to make MILLIONS but it’s a secondary goal and my reasoning is this.  I would like more freedom to do whatever I want to do… And if I have more money I know that I will be able to work with even more people.  Working with people is what I love to do. AND working with People is what I do right now.  Ironically I’ve personally discovered that the more invested I get in doing what I love the more money I’ve made.  It’s like the Law of Attraction or something?  It’s like when you follow what you’re meant to do the money comes. Do what you would do even if you didn’t get paid for it, do it now.  Do you get what I’m saying?

3.    Here’s MY all time favorite way of handling the doubt that comes with achieving my goals/dreams. Everyone that‘s come over to my house knows I do this.  I Love to make LISTS.  I will break it down for ya  🙂

For 2009 make a list of your Top 10-20 Short Term Attainable goals.  Here’s what I like to do… Divide the YEAR up into 3month segments, 4 TOTAL. Soooo

1.    Jan, Feb, March

2.    April, May, June

3.    July, Aug, Sept

4.    Oct, Nov, Dec

Then you take your list of 10-20 goals and you put them into the months you think you can realistically achieve them.  Once you’ve done that you go for it for the next 365 days Every day, every moment you work towards achieving your Top 10-20 Short Term Attainable Goals.

So now on your wall YOU have the big list of 10-20 goals and the 3 Month List of which goals you are going to work towards in those months.  In the January, February, March SECTION write down all the Major Goals and Minor Goals you want to attain.  BUT do more than write it down! You need to make it a must that you will find a way to complete all the tasks on that Months list in the 31-28days.  ATTACK THEM baby… HUNT them down!  A dream, is a dream, is a dream.  YOU gotta go after it. That’s where the magic comes from.  The path and the choices you make every single day is what’s going to get you where you want to be.

Finally – Every week I make a list of what I am going to achieve on that day… The musts.  So this is the 3rd List for Goal Setting.

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday… AND OTHER in case there’s anything left over that I could maybe squeeze in.  You may think this sounds crazy but what’s CRAZY is how well it works 🙂

FIIINNNAAALLLYYYY the 4th and final list– Everyday I make a list that I carry around with me on a piece of paper so I don’t forget my objectives of the day.  I’m very old school I like to write it down, but this can all be done on the Blackberry or Iphone too.

Here’s an Example of my Day Tomorrow.

Monday January 12th, 2009

1.    Wake up 5.18am -Walk the Dog, mail bills

2.    6.30am Spin Class Greenwich

3.    Make Sure Amy’s on the guest list for Lunchtime Spin

4.    8.30-10.30 Meetings

5.    Lift weights from 11-12

6.    12.30 Spin Greenwich

7.    Home – lunch – Office work Emails/ call Con Ed – walk the dog

8.    4.30-7.30pm Meetings

9.    Plan out Tuesday, rest, dinner walk the Dog 🙂

If I can’t fit some “Other” stuff in there like calling Con Edison I’ll tack it onto Tuesday, no biggie.  I always know what my Major Objectives are for the day because they are written down.  I know exactly what I need to do.  There’s NO ROOM for Doubt in my world because it’s organized in the way I want my life to go.  And I never lose sight of what I stand for: Mission Statement of Hope and Possibility.   Everyday I carry that badge with me wherever I go – In my classes of 30-40 peeps and with every individual I encounter. 

When you know who you are.  When you know what you stand for.  When you know what you want… that’s a very powerful place to be.  It takes away the distractions because you are on a direct path to “YOUR” goals… You see BS for what it is, because frankly when you’re excited about where you’re headed you don’t want anything to get in your way.

Like I said in the beginning, Trust your journey.  If you’re truly working towards something that you know in your heart is right for you… YOU never need to doubt yourself.  Believe in it BABY!

This is a good prayer/affirmation to repeat to yourself when all else fails…

“God grant me the SERENITY to accept the things I cannot change, the COURAGE to change the things I can, and the WISDOM to know the difference.”

May all your hopes and dreams come true.

 

 

5 Responses to “HUNT it DOWN!”


  1. 1 tennewpence
    January 19, 2009 at 8:54 am

    Awesome blog entry! with some very kool tips! thank you for that… I am always struggling to motivate myself and this year I am trying to make a difference… with the help of your blog I am getting closer to those goals that i want to achieve in my life!

  2. 2 jessica clark
    January 19, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    I was never particularly organized with lists or goals, and I would generally figure that I pretty much got things done anyway. BUT in the years that I’ve known Lacey, and have witnessed her do each and every one of the things she writes about in this post I have become a convert! There’s no better way to actually make yourself figure out what you really want, or to keep myself on track to achieving it 🙂

    It’s still surprising to me how much can get done in a day or week or month THIS WAY 🙂 It may seem like big commitment but it’s like any other habit…after a few weeks it just becomes what we do!!

    Try it and see what happens 🙂

  3. 3 Anonymous
    January 20, 2009 at 5:52 am

    I loved this post! I just saved it on my blackberry, it’s so helpful. I’m going to e-mail it to all my friends. Off to work on my first list…

  4. 4 vanessa
    January 20, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    Oh Lacey, thanks so much again for your helpful perspective and for sharing these tools with us. I am particularly struck by the idea of creating a personal mission statement. For me, doubt really creeps in when I lose sight of my goals and “life happens.” During these times, I begin to look for signs – in almost everything – about what I think I’m “suppose” to do. It’s exhausting, and frankly, unproductive, In creating this mission, I think I may be able to focus on ways to actively pursue my desires versus passively waiting for the universe to just give me an answer. I also love the idea of deconstructing the “intention” behind a desire. Whenever I’m able to do this, it allows me to make it a much more manageable pursuit. xx

  5. January 20, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    Thank YOU everyone. Vanessa… EXACTLY 🙂 🙂

    You need to figure out what you stand for. When you know who you are YOU will be able to love yourself more. YOU will be able to let situations go. Then something ironic often happens.

    When we are able to truly let things go… When we don’t hold such a TIGHT GRIP on our desires. When we just know who we are… And go about our lives in a purposeful manner. What we are looking for seems to appear out of no where.

    If you want someone to love you… YOU need to love yourself first. If you want to feel love you have to give love. If you want more organization in your life, fitness, job… Organize yourself.

    Once you know who you are the answers are right there. If you choose to go by somebody else’s rules… Life gets very confusing.


Leave a Reply

Categories