07
Jan
09

Aaaaah What Happened?

aahblog

Ok. I’m going to be very honest with you all today. I’ve been back in my food and workout routine for just under a week and it’s KILLING ME!  You think I’m joking?  I’m not.  I actually feel unfit, I feel like someone who hasn’t worked out in a long time.  It’s no fun 😦

 Friday I was in The Big Game! Lacey’s athletic drills class and I was sucking wind so badly and loudly she had to laugh at me DURING CLASS.  Saturday I ran outside with a good friend, which was great; that is until the next day when my hip flexors felt like they could snap in half.  My social Sunday afternoon plans were shelved in favor of lying on the couch, because the double header of The Big Game! followed by spin had taken every last gasp from my body.   Monday morning I actually threw up in my mouth a little during spin class (I know… attractive right?!). And Yesterday, well yesterday everybody was back at the gym in full force and I couldn’t help but notice how we were all looking at our reflections just a little sadly in the floor to ceiling studio mirrors. It’s DEFINITELY JANUARY!!  And yes, I know that my workout schedule probably sounds a little insane to some of you 🙂  but that’s what I need to do to be the way I like to be 🙂   Plus, I love it.  Just NOT right now!!

What’s my point?  My point is that it’s incredibly hard for us ALL to get back into our focused and disciplined fitness routines after a few weeks (or months) of relative relaxation and indulgence.  If you’re having a hard time motivating right now; are slightly horrified by the extra little layer of softness on your body (that’s a hard one for me!) or just can’t quite believe that your cardio endurance or strength has decreased THAT quickly then you are NOT ALONE.  I don’t know anybody who isn’t fighting that feeling, and I include all the fitness fanatics I know in that statement.  I want you to know that if we’re making it look easy it’s because we’re smiling through the pain 🙂 and that’s the truth.  We’re all human, as super disciplined and athletic as we try to be.

 How can we smile?  Because this much we know for sure. If we all, you and I and them, if we all just keep persevering, keep at it, keep pushing through the red-faced, out of breath “I wanna puke” feeling for just three weeks or so.  If we fight the call of the couch, at least until AFTER the workout 🙂  then IT WILL get better, steadily, maybe a little slowly, but UNDENIABLY better.

 You know what else happens?  Our brains start getting used to the feeling of working out too and we start to look forward to it again, we start wanting to make healthful food choices again so as not to undo all this hard work, and time that we’ve invested in ourselves.  It starts to come together again. It does.

 So if you’re coming back from an extended December fitness break, or if you’re a brand new ‘RESOLUTIONS’ gym member, just know that just a few weeks of consistent effort will give you dramatic improvements in your fitness and energy levels and is enough for those jeans to start to feel a little looser again too 🙂

 

So Yes I Can.  Yes You Can.  Yes We Can 🙂   !!!  

7 Responses to “Aaaaah What Happened?”


  1. 1 kate t
    January 7, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    great….. but now can you work out for me? 😉

  2. 2 kikinator
    January 8, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    This is what I totally needed to read this morning. After about two weeks of being lazy, I got back with my trainer on Tuesday and now I cannot move without looking like an old lady. (I blame it all on the squats.) However, I’m heading back tonight and am determined to fight through the soreness. I’m looking forward to feeling strong again!

  3. 3 mr pinstripes
    January 8, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    im with you. i gained about 10 lbs over the last month from heavy drinking and cookies for lunch. I hate having any fat on my body it makes me sad inside. But I hate cardio more, I just do enough to break a sweat then i do a fast paced weight routine… i will lose weigh simply by subtraction. no cookies, no booze. it will all come off because I walk a lot and normally am fit. anyways, good luck to everyone. my motivation is all those fit people at the gym and the pretty ones that make the work out go faster. doesn’t matter if your heart rate raises from a treadmill or a girl giving you butterflies right?

  4. 4 Rebecca
    January 8, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    I have heard from many people that it’s good for the body to take a tiny break once in awhile.

    ( http://www.afterellen.com/people/2009/1/lesbiancelebritygirlfirends_part1?page=0%2C4 )

    SEXY!

  5. 5 Anonymous
    January 9, 2009 at 4:11 am

    i feel so derailed from bad news at work, the holidays, and the weight gain (i feel like a whale) and loss of motivation to exercise. i’m really depressed about it and not sure how to get back on track. i don’t think working out alone is going to get my body back on track, and that depresses me even more.

  6. 6 Brooke
    January 10, 2009 at 9:50 am

    What a great blog! Thanks Lacey and Jessica for the inspiration to get to the gym and start living healthier. I live in the Middle East and have been sucked into an unhealthy vortex in my expat community. Sweatcity is a great new source for positive thinking and acting.

  7. January 10, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    HI Everyone!

    Thank YOU for your comments and honesty. Like Jessica said… When you get off the wagon it ain’t easy to get back on it… Get that momentum going again.

    Here’s something I try to remember. Nothing amazing ever happens over night. In fact the really great master pieces take years. BUT the only way to start a master piece is to begin. You can’t rush to get a “more” perfect body. It’s one day at a time… one step at a time. Run your own race… Just take the next step. Anndd prepare yourself mentally for the process… don’t get discouraged because there will be roadblocks, tests. Those tests are put there not to discourage you but to see if you have what it takes. Doing amazing things take something. They make you feel something. The journey is where you learn everything about yourself… The journey is more important than the destination.

    A good book about going on journeys is called the Alchemist. Please read it if you haven’t… You never know what you’re going to get. YOU just have to go for it.

    In terms of being depressed. If it’s really bad… I would see someone. If it’s just a really long pity party, than put the cake away and strap on your sneakers.. ENOUGH!

    Lets keep inspiring each other and make 2009 a year you look back on with a smile 🙂 x


Leave a Reply

Categories