01
Jan
09

New Year. New You?

newyearpic

It’s the first day of 2009!  Happy New Year everybody 🙂

The festive season was lovely for me; I decided to give myself a real break.  I spent time with my family in Ireland, ate carbs and dark chocolate, drank a little red wine, didn’t workout nearly as hard or as often and slept long and late.  It has done me the world of good.  I was exhausted and needed the change of pace to recharge my batteries.  I woke up very early this am (jetlag!) after a late night of New Year celebration back in NYC with Lacey and tired as I am, I am also happy to be ready to get back into my routine.

One of the initial reasons Lacey and I decided to start Sweat City was in answer to the question we both (as a fitness professional and a model) get asked most frequently: “What is it that you do to look/feel/be the way that you are?”

Let me preface by saying that this is a personal routine that work for ME.  We all have different needs and desires and find different activities fun. 

The fact that it might not feel fun to start with is NOT an excuse however 🙂 !  Getting sweaty and out of breath might not feel fun to begin with, but I promise it CAN AND DOES become something that you get so much out of that you’re sad if you have to miss it.

So: What do I do?

I workout 5-6 days a week doing a combination of running or the elliptical machine for low impact, spin classes, and the BIG GAME (a full body cardio conditioning class courtesy of the lovely Ms Stone).  I use a weighted medicine ball. I do push-ups, and jump rope as fast as I can for 5-10 minutes or until I can’t breathe 🙂

For really fun, SUPER EFFECTIVE workouts check out https://sweatcity.wordpress.com/2008/11/24/seven-treadmill-workouts/

 https://sweatcity.wordpress.com/2008/08/15/laceys-interval-workout/

I eat (yes I really do I promise!), at least 3 times a day and often 4-5 times a day.  Check out ‘volumetrics’…

https://sweatcity.wordpress.com/2008/08/17/how-we-eat-volumetrics/

I don’t eat dessert or candy ever really, well, festive season aside 🙂 I also rarely drink alcohol, I quit smoking 5 years ago when I first decided I wanted my life back.

I go to bed early and I get up early because that is how I manage to workout so consistently; I just do it before life can get in the way and give me an excuse not to.

I actively try to ‘reframe’ events that I may not like, or that upset me during my day. For example if someone is horribly rude to me my emotional gut response is to think “It’s me, they don’t like me, there’s something wrong with me.”  This kind of thing used to be a trigger that would result in me stuffing food into my face like it was going out of fashion.  Now I reframe the event immediately in my brain. “They must be having a really hard day, I don’t think that it has anything to do with me really, it could have been anyone they were rude to. It’s because they are unhappy or frustrated in some way.”  That doesn’t make the behavior acceptable but it does mean I don’t start in on a negative downwards spiral for the rest of the day.  It used to be something I had to do consciously, but after a while it became second nature and it is one of the MOST HELPFUL life tools I have ever learnt!

I try the best I can everyday to be the best version of me that I can. When I screw up, and I definitely do, I try not to dwell on it, beat myself up and use it as an excuse to opt out of my life. I acknowledge it, if necessary I apologize (to myself or someone else) and then I try to move on. 

I try not to over eat, but I also try not to under eat, because my body is worthy of more respect than that.  I try every day to have respect for myself, my health, my emotions and for everyone out there who, whether they’re my favorite people or not, are just trying to do the best they know how in their lives too.   If they’re toxic, I don’t let them into my life anymore than is absolutely necessary.

And I’m lucky enough to have this forum, which helps me check in with myself through writing and interacting with you all.  Sweat City has proven itself to be such a rewarding experience for us both.  We want to thank you all for sharing this experience with us through 2008 and now as we begin a whole new chapter in 2009.  I hope that this New Year brings you health, happiness and prosperity 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “New Year. New You?”


  1. 1 Anonymous
    January 3, 2009 at 1:23 am

    Thank you jessica, I wish you and Lacy the best year!

  2. 2 Anonymous
    January 4, 2009 at 1:48 am

    You know i was just reading this and was thinking, this guy could make you two straight, in a jk way of course all love
    http://www.devendrabanhart.com/photospage.html

    And before you think he’s gay, it’s natalie portmans ole boyfriend
    http://www.devendrabanhart.com/video4.html

    Enjoy!

  3. January 4, 2009 at 10:20 am

    I liked your site. Lovely photographs,too!!

  4. February 1, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    HAPPY BELATED NEW YEAR!!!

    2009 Resolutions:

    1) Be happy, enjoy myself, be young, worry less
    2) Be successful in school
    3) Be good to myself.
    4) Go sky diving before my 23rd b-day! <– before I die, really
    5) Go snowboarding with my brother this season.
    6) No more intertwined 3rd party drama.
    7) Be healthier / exercise more / get abs
    9) Have a sexy tan
    10) Get a tattoo that I design w/ friends (Got an idea!) <– MAYBE lol
    11) Be better to my mom.
    12) Keep my friends close.
    13) Travel more / go see the ocean
    14) Have more confidence
    15) OH and I want to see Katy Perry & the Pussycat Dolls in concert! HAHA

    I’m sure there’s more but here’s the basics… =P

    ❤ -Rachel

    My group of girl’s resolutions: http://forum.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=messageboard.viewThread&entryID=71213275&categoryID=0&IsSticky=0&groupID=106343388&Mytoken=378A6F61-D654-4B6B-AB8AA598DB6102DF219668991


Leave a Reply

Categories