28
Dec
08

Home For the Holidays – The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

n1439805077_36993 dsc015295

FAMILY, The New and The Old (John Stone, Tiffany Stone, Jackie Stone, and Jessica Clark-Stone) 🙂

 

It’s the last week of 2008…  I’m packing up my bags and getting ready to head back to New York. It was great to be with Family for the holidays but I also found it incredibly difficult this year.

There’s so much history with my family… They know everything about me.  They know my accomplishments and my failures.  There’s no hiding and I think that’s why the holidays can be such a stressful time for a lot of people.  The Holidays can be a harsh wake-up call if life isn’t headed in a positive direction. 

Aaannnddd when you throw siblings into the equation there’s always a possible World War III. It gets difficult with the “favorite,” the history, and the unspoken rivalries…

I wanted it to be a peaceful Christmas with the Stone Family, as did Jessica with the Clark Family, however post Holiday Cheer Jessica and I found ourselves on the phone speaking of some not so very Merry “debates.”  This year Jessica and I celebrated the Holidays in different countries.

Why is it that when blood relatives get together there’s always some sort of altercation?  Why don’t we just get along….  I love my Dad so much but I find myself getting so angry with him.  When Jessica is away from her mother she speaks of her like a goddess but when the two get together there are certain topics they just can’t discuss.

I’m so grateful to my parents for the love and support they’ve shown me over the years.  They’ve stood by me when other parents would’ve walked away.  I’m proud of the woman I’ve become and I owe a large part of that to the way I was raised.

Ooohhh FAMILY, there’s said to be a fine line between love and hate… I’ve never come close to using the word hate with family but I do get aggravated beyond belief on occasion. 

Maybe it’s because everyone’s getting older, maybe it’s because the tables are beginning to turn… I’m becoming more of the parent, which is scary to me.  I use to think my Mom and Dad knew everything but as I get older I realize they don’t.  It’s kinda like The Wizard of Oz… I see behind the curtain and a part of all parents never want that.

I believe the bottom line is that most parents do the BEST they know how to do.  It isn’t an easy task to raise another human being, to be in charge of someone else’s life… I know I’m not ready for it!  Parents are doing the best they know how to do,  it can be a selfless job…

As I pack my bags and get ready to head to airport, a part of be is excited to get back to my life BUT another part of me wants to run to my parents… Wants my Mom and Dad to take care of me forever… To save me from adulthood.  Maybe that’s it… Maybe parents want desperately to be a major part of our lives again, they want to make everything better.  As we get older Parents know their words don’t carry as much weight.   Maybe they are hurting inside because they’re getting old and have lost their role in the world.  They miss us…. And we miss them. 

I had to grow-up.  My parents can’t save me from the harsh realities of adulthood.  They can’t cook all my dinners and fix my boo-boos.  They can’t make everything ok anymore.

Parents, Family – It can be a thankless job unless we as children recognize how hard they try.  As I write this I feel sooo much love in my heart for my Mom and Dad.  It’s hard to see eye-to-eye as we all get older but no matter how much we bicker there will always be a common thread that binds us together, love.   

Thank you Mom and Dad, I love you.

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Home For the Holidays – The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly”


  1. December 28, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    love reading your blog…keep it up. 🙂

  2. 2 Lynn
    December 29, 2008 at 3:27 am

    I know for a fact that your parents love you VERY much. I know what you mean about family though… just spent a week with mine. Enough said. 🙂 Take care… and Happy New Year!

  3. December 29, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    Thanks FAITH! 🙂 It’s all about Love baby! x 🙂

  4. 4 cynde starck
    September 21, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    Lacey, I knew your parents very well back in the 70’s. They were so excited about having you. They are wonderful people and love you a lot. I had my wedding reception at your house on Lake Drive but moved to California right after that. I lost touch with Jackie and John and would love to know how to contact them.

    Glad to see you can keep things in perspective!

    Cynde

  5. October 15, 2014 at 9:49 pm

    Very soon this web site will be famous amid all blogging users,
    due to it’s good content


Leave a Reply

Categories