14
Dec
08

New, Fresh, EXCITING!!!

annoying-girl2  jamie2

Take a close look at the above magazine covers.  I circled some things in red that I found disturbing.

There’re soooo many Magazines on the Market today editors will do whatever takes to be HEARD.  It has to be NEW-FRESH-EXICITING.  If it doesn’t sell it doesn’t work…. Covers are KEY!

CELEBRITIES

Look and notice that Celebrities are now almost ALWAYS featured on the cover of top industry magazines. About 5 years ago celebrities wouldn’t even think of doing covers… However with the Reality TV Craze actors have to find new ways to stay relevant.  PUSHING PRODUCTS is the way of the celebrity to stay in the media. Soooo whoever has the seasons next big blockbuster will most likely be featured on all the covers, cross marketing BABY! 🙂

PROPAGANDA!

Look at these covers closely…  The more crazy the articles the more likely they’ll grab a consumers eye.

  1. Success without Stress
  2. Lose your belly in 12 days
  3. More energy INSTANTLY
  4. Get Fit NOW
  5. One Exercise for MAX fat lose

For consumers the Top source of Fitness & Life advice are Magazines.  It’s unfortunate that magazines are struggling right now because of the online BOOM… So they’re pulling out all the stops. It’s a business…  And if you’ve ever worked in a highly competitive job you know that it’s all about the numbers.  YOU create numbers with controversy and quick fixes because it’s easy to digest and people will buy it.  If it’s too complicated no one wants to hear about it. This is exactly what happens to our fitness information… Watered down, easily digestible info that won’t offend too many people.

Clients come to me and say I want this fast… That thought is just a product of the media.  Nothing worth anything happens fast, instantly, now.  True success can only happen over time…. True success can only come from within.  No perfect body and no billion dollars can make everything ok.

“The you can change your life instantly” tag lines gets people to purchase a magazine but please don’t believe it…. Because if you choose to believe that success in life can come instantly you’re buying into more than a magazine.

9 Responses to “New, Fresh, EXCITING!!!”


  1. December 14, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    I never buy magazines or read them. I think I did back in HS and they were “teen something or another.” Anything with advertisement normally turns me away and I blank out and don’t take any of it in since I know I’ve been programmed to respond to those types of things (brainwashing, consumerism) I don’t. I want to beat the system damn it! LOL

  2. 2 Rebecca
    December 15, 2008 at 3:18 am

    How about> Eat everything in sight and “DON’T” gain and oz.

    Have you heard of the “pink patch”? Those poor brainwashed teenage girls think putting a pink sticker on their butt will turn them into ms skeleton overnight. CRAZY! How dumb can anyone be in believing all this unrealistic hype? Also heard take this pill before going to sleep and wake up 20 pounds less or maybe Queen of England LMAO!

    Success without stress???? Oh yeah you mean daddy’s little girl who do nothing but spend their fathers hard earned money? Those rich bitches who’s great grandfathers put them into multibillionaire business i.e. Ivanka Trump? Sorry but I don’t believe success without stress is even remotely true. I have more respect for those self made successful people!

  3. 3 Sarah
    December 16, 2008 at 12:53 am

    And why is the imperative to lose weight or look better, even in magazines that are supposedly about HEALTH? If people were more focused on health – on how they feel, on how they want to feel in the future – looking better would happen naturally anyway. It makes me so mad! It’s the worst kind of superficiality, because it actually encourages poor health.

  4. December 16, 2008 at 1:05 am

    Wow Ladies, Thank YOU for your passionate comments 🙂 It’s just good for everyone to be mindful of the media’s affect on our mindsets… What we look like and who we are.

  5. 5 erin
    December 16, 2008 at 5:01 am

    I love magazine but I am not brainwashed. =] No I dont believe I can eat anything I want and only work out 20 mins a day, and lose 50 pounds while doing it. however, magazine are full of information! I’ve learned so much from reading their blurbs. In fact when I am feeling I need a treat I typically pick up a magazine instead of the Milky way at the check stand.

  6. December 16, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Hoorrayyy Erin! Thank you for the otherside! I love Magazines too… Just the message of you gotta get more this, better this, cutter this ALL THE TIME gets a bit too much for me.

    When people are constantly searching the new best thing they miss out on the right now.

  7. 7 Danielle
    December 17, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    I think my favorite part may just be the small headline at the top of the “Womens Health” mag– “Slim Without the Gym!” Does this not scream “you can get slim without working out, or working at all?” Despite the small subheadline next to it, it just grabs everyone’s attention and says “you can look like *her* without even moving a finger!”

    I do believe these magazines have really important information in them, but the fact is that most people buy them for these crazy, mythic headlines and skip over the important, substantive information. I know when I used to buy them, before I got serious in the gym, I would read only how celebrities lost weight (which they’re always lying about) and how to restrict my food. It wasn’t healthy.

    I think we need more people like you two being interviewed- people who are willing to admit that they work HARD and eat THOUGHTFULLY- and fewer people who say “yeah, just eat more veggies and you’ll lose 30 lbs” when they really just live off of sugar free red bulls and egg whites.

  8. 8 erin
    December 21, 2008 at 6:06 am

    Hey I just wanted to add! Congrats on your expert DJ status in FITNESS!

  9. December 21, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    hahaha! Good Eye 🙂 Thank YOU! xx


Leave a Reply

Categories