16
Nov
08

Have you ever been injured?

dsc01408

I’ve been working out on a busted heel for about a month now. I take Advil twice a day, I tape my foot up before I teach, I ice it after every class I teach, annnddd every night I pray that it will get better. This past Thursday I presented at a BIG Fitness Conference in Miami. Prior to the conference I told myself once I got through it I would take the next steps in the recovery process… Rest.

Over the course of this past month I’ve been very proactive… Sitting down whenever I get the opportunity, icing… Some days my heel feels fine and other days I can hardly walk. For an active person injuries are TORTURE. I’d rather workout until it breaks then put myself on the sidelines… I know it sounds crazy but it’s just how I’m built.

It’s my job to workout so for me and many of my colleagues injuries are not an option. Unfortunately, this heel spur is not going away… I’ve done everything in my power to curb the pain and it’s still there. Today I subbed out my cardio drills class and it just near killed me. Not only is TheBigGAME! one of my favorite things to do in the world; I created the class, I’ll miss seeing my peeps in my class… Some of The GAMERS are my best friends, AHHHHH!!!

But I guess I’m thinking short term… If I don’t rest my foot it’s just going to get worse… And the recovery process could last months. The reason I haven’t gone to the doctor is because I know what he’s going to say, “take two weeks off aaannnddd if it’s not better we’ll give you a cortisone shot.”

Oh woe is me!!! 🙂 I’m going to be a big girl and suck it UP! I am a HUGE supporter of when the going gets tough the tough gets going… What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger… BUT sometimes the most effective strategy is to slow down and take a minute to recover, to rest. After all my motto is Passion, Persistence….AND Patience… Oh the patience…

Here’s what you can do for a Heel Injury:

1. Rest – No exercise for at least a week.
2. Ice it, elevate it, Advil it
3. Go to the doctor
4. Wear comfortable shoes… NO HIGH HEELS (Especially you Victor 🙂 ) hehe
5. And slowly work your way back to recovery – Time is the only real medicine.

As an American New YORKER 🙂 We live in a culture that’s all about Survival of the fittest, The “Rest when I’m dead” mentality. We run ourselves ragged for the glory of being the winner! I’m as guilty as anyone… rest, what’s rest? 🙂

Mentally… Here’s what I’m going to focus on to get myself through.

1. It could be worse, so much worse.
2. Working out is not an option so I’ll focus on eating as healthy as possible
3. Enjoying the moment –I did some laps in the pool this morning annnndddd, because I was in the moment, I thought of something… I could develop a NEW workout in the pool?! 🙂

When life gets hard… Here’s one of my favorite quotes, I am a firm believer that everything happens for a reason and if you can go with the flow of life instead of pushing against it miracles happen.

“Whether you believe it or not the universe is unfolding exactly as it should.”

7 Responses to “Have you ever been injured?”


  1. 1 Maria
    November 16, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    You pointing out that one should get some rest when injured is great. You should really take care of yourself and slow down. I am 21 years young, but have had an injured foot for 10 years now, I can’t even stand on my toes or jump with my left foot, and it’s so important to take care of that, do as much as possible but always listen to what your body has to say.
    I hope that it’s getting better soon! And congratulations to you and your fiancé. 🙂

  2. 2 mr pinstripes
    November 16, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    It’s a no brainer. Go see a doctor (if you have insurance) and do whatever he/she tells you, even if it’s not what you want to hear. No sense making it worse and never getting better.

    I’d also take the reflection time you have and ask yourself what would you do if you could never teach again? what would you do if you, as you put it, “had it a lot worse” broken leg, hip… wheelchair.

    Surely there is much more to life then excercising no? You can still swim maybe?

    I think that the “tough guy” mentality is unevolved and super counter productive. Willpower is great when it can be the difference between getting fit and not getting fit but you’re a fitness guru, you understand science and you already know what you SHOULD do so why would you be able to get better while still excercising and teaching? Why aren’t you doing what you’re supposed to? is it a deeper issue?

    we’re all human. we all get hurt. the smart ones do “the right thing” while the “tough” ones prove how hard headed they are =p

    i hate injuries, i had to retire from basketball because of them.. getting old sucks

  3. November 16, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    Hey Lacey I’m so sorry. You’re quite the trooper really to still be on the heel even though it’s injured. Though not following the REST advice is what’s getting you I see. Busy bee it will be the end of you. Ha-ha… I hope you feel better soon!

  4. November 16, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    I know where you’re coming from. I went for a 8 mile run in June & started to limp the last mile. A few days later my right foot swelled up & I could barely walk although I have a physically active career. Turns out that I had a severe case of tendonitis & basically I needed to keep off of it period but I like you had to make a living. So TWO months later my foot was getting worse & I finally decided to take my doctors advice & rest, take Advil, soak it & elevate it every chance I get. I can finally say that I have started going for four mile walks & hopefully by the new year I can start to run again. Take it easy Lacey.

  5. 5 Cassandra
    November 17, 2008 at 1:52 am

    Hey get the shot…I had a very bad heel spur also..the pain was horrible…but the injection helps…the next day is going to feel horrible but after that your pretty good….Honestly I had to get the shot about 4 times…after that I haven’t had any problems…the sooner the better Lacey…CJ

  6. 6 taylor
    November 20, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Injuries are my middle name. I’ve had my ACL replaced twice (partly thanks to the nature of rugby… but partly because of my own impatience to return to sports before it was ready) and I just got over a 3 month bout with incredibly painful shinsplints.. i know, it sounds like a silly injury, but these things were so bad they woke me up in the middle of the night. And could have been avoided entirely if i had stopped running on them for a week or two in the very beginning.

    so.. albeit slowly and stubbornly, im learning the importance of listening to my body.

    take care of yourself!

  7. 7 Tigger
    November 25, 2008 at 1:14 am

    That makes me feel soo lazy for not exercising, even when I’m not injured! Strange things motivate me. lol


Leave a Reply

Categories