05
Oct
08

Shhhh… The SLUMP

There’s no tip toeing around it, there’s no sugar coating it, It is what it is… I’m not even sure how to describe it but I know it happens to everyone. I’m going to call it The SLUMP.

 

What the heck do I mean… What’s The SLUMP? The SLUMP is when we lose motivation.  For me The SLUMP is when I find myself wondering if I’ll ever reach my goals, if my goals are even what I want… It’s when I want to give up.

The SLUMP is that lapse of time when we’re either going to be in a funk for a while or we’re going to summon of the power to get ourselves out of it. It’s a hard time for everyone… It BLOWS. 

BUT the quicker we can find a way to climb out of it, the BETTER.  The SLUMP is one of the most crucial times in a fitness routine.  What happens during The SLUMP? Nothing feels right, we often don’t want to go the gym, and over eating or under eating depending on our own personal preference is on the forefront of our minds.

I’ve hit and witnessed many a SLUMP and I know it to be one of the Fundamental Factors in ending a successful fitness run.  DDDEEEPPPPPRREESSSSIIIINNNGGGGGG I know, but lets deal with it. 

 LACEY & JESSICA’s TOP 7 WAYS to handle The SLUMP

1.  The CYCLE of LIFE – Like the seasons so is SLUMPin It.  This too shall pass, and the sun will shine again.  When you are in a SLUMP you don’t believe it, but come back to this page on the blog, seriously it’s true.  Time heals all wounds, BELIEVE IT.

2.  MAKE A LOVE DATE WITH A FRIEND – At this date tell your friend you need them to tell you how wonderful you are for an hour or more.  YOU just need it.  Tell them to come up with a list of everything you’ve accomplished and remind you about how freakin fabulous you are. 

3.  KEEP ON YOUR ROUTINE – If you don’t have one, get one! Routines are the saviors of the dreaded slump.  Even if you’re a zombie keep going through the motions of your life.  Try not to put your life on hold… Just keep doing the next right thing, one step at a time – Make your bed, brush your teeth, go to work, go the gym… Always keep #1 in your mind– It will pass.

4.  TAKE THE FOCUS OFF YOURSELF – Do something nice for a friend, a co-worker, a loved one, or even a Stranger.  Occupy your mind with the goodness of giving.

5.  STAY AWAY FROM THE NEGATIVE GOOGLE  or THE FACEBOOK STALK – Don’t google your ex- don’t google your significant others ex, don’t see where you stand in your career… Not the time people, nnnoootttt the TIME.

6. SLEEP – Go to bed early. Often times we are just tired and good nights rest is the best remedy.

7.  STAY AWAY FROM THE BOTTLE – Alcohol is a depressant.  You might feel better in the short run but it’s not going to help tomorrow.  It will also help you avoid #5, and the horrendously embarrassing drunk dial… YOU know what I’m talking about 🙂

So I’ve been there and I know it’s hard…. It’s harder then hard when you’re in it.  BUT it passes I promise.  The quicker you can get yourself out of it, the BETTER. Fight it baby… YOU can take control of Slumps.  My SLUMPS use to last months, one of them even lasted 5 years 🙂  BUT now I’ve mastered the art of making it last only a couple hours.  In the past 3 years the longest one I had lasted 2 days.  Fingers crossed, please God don’t let me jinx myself  🙂  Just know you’re not alone, you’re not crazy, it’s a part of life we all must learn to handle.

What’s your top tip for handling the Madness of The Slump? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 Responses to “Shhhh… The SLUMP”


  1. 1 marya
    October 6, 2008 at 8:05 am

    Great as always ladies
    but…what about the cellulites one? im looking forward for your suggestions and wise words about it. 🙂

  2. 2 Dawn
    October 6, 2008 at 11:31 am

    This is so relevant for so many of us right now! Thanks for spelling it out…I worked this weekend to get out of my slump and found joy. It can be done- put that smile on (even if it hurts) and start making the first step!

  3. 3 Sarah
    October 6, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    I’ve found myself in a different kind of slump recently – have been diagnosed with a couple of tumors, and as I await surgery, I’m in pretty constant pain. So I can’t run anymore (it’s hard to eat, so I’m not too worried about calories) and I’m feeling REALLY sad about losing the fitness I’ve worked so hard for. Any advice on what to do mentally when you CAN’T exercise (very slow walking is about it) would be much appreciated! Thanks for your blog, Lacey and Jessica – I love it.

  4. October 6, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    Hey Ladies! Thank YOU for your comments 🙂 Marya… Jessica is going to cover the dreaded cellulite asap!

    Dawn… Thank you for the tip. I find that putting my head down and plowing through some work is a Wonderful remedy… Cathartic in a way, right?

    Sarah… Wow, you have left me a little speechless. I’m really sorry that you’re having to deal with this major physical and mental struggle. My entire heart goes out to you.

    Here’s what I know. When I played basketball in college I injured myself, two broken bones in both feet. I had to sit out an entire season. No exercise, no nothing. Basketball was my life, my identity… It’s safe to say I was completely depressed and lost.

    Here’s what I did… Instead of trying to escape from my injury I accepted it. I made a list of everything I could do, everything I wanted to do in my life, crazy stuff… I wrote out a life map/visualization of where I wanted to be once I beat the injury.

    Are there any hobbies that have ever interested you in your life but you’ve never had the time to take up? Experiences that you now have time to do?

    If I got sick and couldn’t work out… I would take some classes on finance at NYU, really focus on finishing my book… BALLS to the WALL! I would take an art class, go to the opera… and on and on. For me it would be absolutely horrible but I would try to occupy my mind with as much positive as possible. Reconnect with old friends, plan a holiday party. Anything to keep my spirits up!

    I believe happiness is a miracle cure… Do whatever you can to keep a smile on your face and the love in your heart. And take it one day at a time… Try not to get ahead of yourself. Focus on what you can do Monday, do everything you can do Monday… Do the next right thing and the next right thing and…. That is all you can do. Then it’s Tuesday, do the same thing.

    Worry gets you absolutely no where. Worry adds stress, sadness, doubt, fear… EVERY emotion you don’t need to get better.

    Just keep moving forward woman, take the next step, focus on what you do have control over… That’s your mind, fill it with butterflies, fairy dust, and magic.

    I hope this helped Sarah… I’m not an expert by any means but I know what it is to fight for something. Be a warrior woman. YOU can do anything.

  5. 5 Stephania
    October 6, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    This clingy feeling/emotion/negative energy that you’ve spelled out is one of my worst enemies. And THIS post has had an amazing impact on me, since I’ve always felt this without being able to say what it was and why it came. it usually leads me to zombie life -a whole afternoon doing ‘nothing’ at home when I know I have better things to do- but usually no more than a few days… (THANK god).

    What is very helpful to me when I’m down or ‘slumpy’ as you put it, is to write. I try to first describe what it isI feel. Then I try to take some distance and figure out possible reasons why I could be like that, (hormones for example, it can really mess you up mind & body), and then I try to think of something positive that I could do to cheer me up (talk to a friend, draw, listen to a great song you love, go out of home be it just for a coffee, -still better than staying home the WHOLE day-). I’m a list person, so writing a list next to each of the three steps (1. what do I feel? 2. why? 3. what can I do to feel better?) really helps.
    Well that’s the way I fight the ‘SLUMP’…
    Thank you very very much for the great post.

  6. 6 Sarah
    October 7, 2008 at 6:43 am

    Thanks Lacey, for taking as much time as you did to respond to my post. In this kind of situation it’s hard to take a step back and focus on what you CAN do, one day at a time. I feel better, having read what you wrote. What I have control over and the things I love about my life (my beautiful partner, who has been amazing, my dogs, my wonderful friends, my work) still far outweigh the negatives. You’ve really helped me see that. You ROCK Lacey – thank you again.

  7. 7 CJ
    October 8, 2008 at 6:02 am

    Wow… This came at the perfect time for me.

    Thanks for the words of encouragement!

  8. 8 nichelle
    October 10, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Yeah I have to say a ditto for all the people this post came at a perfect time for. I’ve been in a SLUMP for the past week and have been wondering if I even want to get out of it. But just this post made me realize that I’m not alone in this feeling. EVERYONE feels like this at some point in their life. It’s not forever. And I’m not even going to mentally beat myself up about this as I usually would have. I’m just going to push past it. And the next time the dreaded SLUMP comes around I’ll be more prepared.

    Thanks Jessica & Lacey.

    I’m off to the gym for the first time in a week…

  9. May 30, 2013 at 7:47 pm

    Much less Water Consumption: Drinking less amount of water,
    avoiding coffee and eating fruits rich in C vitamin, are suggested for combating
    cellulitis healing itching. Usually they can be
    scrutinised by those who would separate us from our hard-earned cash are little more than massage you and is ineffective against oversized fat cells.
    At first, use a single blade razor or a PFB razor.

  10. June 17, 2013 at 7:33 am

    I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that too few people are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I stumbled across this in my search
    for something relating to this.


Leave a Reply

Categories