28
Sep
08

She’s Coming…

Last Night Jessica and I went to a beautiful Gay Wedding. One of my Favorite Fitness Colleagues, Patricia Moreno, got hitched.  The woman she married is from Brazil and they’re both BIG Dancers so you can only imagine the state of affairs, Dancin, Dancin, DANCIN!

As we often do at weddings… Post festivities I got to thinking about my future with Jessica; When is the BIOATCH is going to get on one knee, and how this beautiful creature came into my life?

Pre-Clark, I had sworn off Love… I said and I quote, “NO MORE Lovin for Lacey.”  I decided I was going to be a 007 type of a character, A George Clooney of sorts!  Very dramatic, I know… But I’d been hurt and I was OVER IT, ok?  🙂  Deciding I didn’t need a relationship to be happy was a real turning point for me in my life.

It was at that time that I started to realize that society puts a lot pressure on people, especially women, to be in relationships. They make you feel like there’s something wrong with you if you’re not paired up.  Aaannd GOD FORBID you’re not married before 40. If you ask a lot of people it almost seems like it’s better to have been divorced then never married at all… What’s that sayin? I’m sorry but that’s BALONEY SANDWICHES!

The way relationships are viewed in American Society really bothers me… People would say to me a lot, you’re soo great why aren’t you in a relationship? YOU need to go out, you need to meet someone, BLAH! I would say, “Why do you think I need to be with someone? I don’t want to be in a relationship right now is that so strange?”  People would look at me and be like… “uummmm, yeah?”

I made a conscious choice to go against the grain and fly solo, no relationships for me, NOPE, no siirreeeee, none!  Those two and half years were some of the best years of my life… I found my career passion, I found out what I do and don’t like, and most importantly I found out I can be 100% happy and fulfilled without being with someone. I became a whole person in every single sense of the word. I didn’t need anyone to make me feel better about myself I found the strength inside me to do it alone.  It made me feel so powerful.  I really learned to love being single, strange I know? 🙂

It was around that time I shockingly realized I had a lot to offer?! 🙂 That if I ever decided to get into a “real” relationship I wouldn’t be going into it to find something I’d be going into it to add something.  I realized I had A LOT of love to give and I started to look forward to the possibility of some day meeting her… That “She” just might come into my life. 

I developed a new confidence… a little swagger.  I wasn’t searching out love I was just feeling it everywhere I went.  You know the saying you get what you give?  Well I was  giving off  llooovvvvee and I was getting it back BIG TIME.  There was a lot of dating going on during that time in my life, lots of FUN times.  AND my entire outlook on love changed.  My clients would ask me why are you still single Lacey? And I would say… She’s coming.  Because in my heart I knew she was.

Have you ever nursed yourself back from heartache to wholeness?

6 Responses to “She’s Coming…”


  1. 1 kis4karma
    September 28, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    good stuff
    destiny
    she’s coming

    thedemiseofarelationship.wordpress.com
    🙂

  2. 2 Rebecca
    September 29, 2008 at 12:44 am

    Nothing much to say other than you BIOATCHS look so elegant and beautiful together. You make one hell of an adorable couple. So you see no human can live without love I don’t buy into the “I’m perfectly fine without it.”

    You gotta love to hate baby!

  3. 3 Stephania
    September 30, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Well, I’m finally single after a 5-year relationship that gave me very little and destroyed quite much… But since we’re done I feel a new freedom and a new desire to take care of myself (and not be taken care of) and to shape my body in a way that suits me… Being alone really helps me, I think I couldn’t do without it in this period of my life. But of course I want love and give love to my friends, parents, dog… I just don’t want a “relationship” kind of love right now, since I’m still working on myself, answering so many questions, wondering what I’d like to do or not……… Again thank you so much for sharing so much, it really makes a difference in my everyday life 🙂

  4. September 30, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Being single can be hard and it can be awesome. Being in a relationship can be hard and it can be awesome… I’m all about finding a way to be good where ever I am. If I’m single AWESOME and if I’m in “one,” AWESOME.
    There’s always a lesson to learn no matter where you stand in your life I truly believe that. Thank YOU Stephania you made me think 🙂

  5. 5 coffeebuzz
    September 30, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    my friend once made fun of me for saying this, but my theory on this “looking for love” thing quite dichotomous, depending on my mood/which side of the bed I woke up on:
    1) it’s bullsh*t. There’s no need for a “better half” or a “soul mate” since I don’t believe I am imperfect just as I am (okay, I am… but those flaws are not things that another person can complement and “fix”)
    2) if i’m here, then s/he’s there. all we have to do is make here = there.

    nice blog. I gotta say, you two really seem to have your stuff together… i’m sure it hasn’t been easy, but you two make it look like plow-fat, organic, macrobiotic, sugar-free] cake

  6. 6 Anonymous
    February 13, 2012 at 9:17 am

    gracias por compartir tus experiencias Lacey, i’m a big fan!


Leave a Reply

Categories