22
Sep
08

Do You listen to MUSIC when you Workout?

Do you listen to music when you workout? 

 

MUSIC is HUGE in my life!  Before I teach class in New York City I spend H-O-U-R-S searching out the best tunes around aannnddd I LOVE to serenade Jessica by half-lip sinking/half singing to ridiculous love songs, HA! Goofball, I know! 🙂

For me it’s such a rush when I find music that gets people excited about working out!  When I get to see the smiles on people’s faces and the sweat dripping from their brows… There’s nothing better…  I LOVE IT!

As a seasoned workout master 🙂 I’m here to tell You the music you choose to workout with has a huge impact on your level of performance.

Have you ever been completely exhausted or kinda sad and SNAP out of it in an instant because your favorite song came on the radio?  The song didn’t solve your exhaustion but for a moment it definitely lifted your spirits, right? I know for a fact that Music not only has a physical impact on our bodies but it also has a mental impact on our spirits… The Impact can be conscious or unconscious… Do you guys agree?

Jessica and I love to use music as a tool to lift our moods and keep us smiling!  I’ve been in a completely awful mood and once I turn on MJB Da MVP by Mary J. Blige… I know everything’s gonna be ok.  I listen to it regularly, I use the song to change my state of mind and it works! When I stop for a moment and listen to the song I realize that everything really is ok 🙂  Music has a veerrry strong effect on me… Do you have any songs you listen to that lift your spirit or touch your soul?

I don’t care whom the artist or what the song is, if the music is able to create a positive feeling in people it’s worth a listening to. I truly believe that good music makes a difference in the world one song at a time. 

I’m a mmmaaajjjooorrrr ADVOCATE of music that carries a positive message… The song doesn’t need it to be as obvious as Natasha Bedingfield’s a Pocketful of Sunshine or Wilson Philips Hold On… It can be a little less in your face like Dance 2nite (Wayne G Mix) by Madonna. For me lyrics are HUGE.  I like to listen to music that only carries positive messages AND I d-e-f-i-n-i-t-e-l-y only teach my classes with that style of music.

Why? Because I often find myself singing the words of the songs from my classes over and over again during the day…  If the words/lyrics carry a positive message it’s almost like creating my own weekly positive affirmations.  If you listen to the words to a lot of great songs the basic message is “Anything’s possible if you believe,” in terms of love and life.  I also like this music because it creates feelings and an environment of positivity… Many times after class someone will say, “Lacey! I love your classes they make me feel so energized, and I always seem to feel aammazzingg after them!” I truly believe that feeling has a LARGE part to do with the type of music I pick.

ITUNES – is the GREATEST invention EVER!!!  Before Itunes I use to have to go to a CD store and listen to music for hours, BUT now all I have to do is run searches on the ITunes interface. AMAZING…  You can go from one genre to the next in seconds.

When creating a workout playlist, although I do love a little hiphop aaannndddddd I’ve been known to bust out a little Frank Sinatra with the lovely Ms Clark…  HEY IT’s ROMANTIC! 🙂 I think it’s best to keep to music that has a fast beat… The faster the music the faster you move. YOUR body will naturally adjust to the beat of what you’re listening to… Faster tunes increase your pace and increase your results!

This is why people who take Yoga don’t listen to Rihanna; Take a Bow- Dance Remixes during class, but rather Buddha Bar VII, Breathe –easy listening.  Music sets the scene; it creates a feeling of relaxation or PARTY PEOPLE! 🙂

 

I know some of you guys get annoyed that lately a lot of songs are getting remixed to a faster beat…  Some of my clients say… “Why are they ruining the music?!” In my opinion the record companies are giving slower songs an opportunity to be worked out too at a faster pace. I personally LOVE IT!  Without the remix, “No One” by Alicia Keys would just be a slow song at a prom dance.  LONG LIVE the REMIX!

That said I’m going to hit YOU up with you my Top Ten Favorite Workout Songs of 2008! All available on ITUNES… And if you’re looking for some more GREAT music join my Lacey Stone Fitness Mailing List at www.laceystonefitness.com I send out 10 new goodies every month!

It was HARD… But here’s the list!

 1. Forever – Chris Brown

2. Closer – Ne-yo

3. Take a Bow (Tony Moran & Warren Riggs Encore Club) – Rihanna           

4. Touch My Body (Seamus Haji Mix) – Mariah Carey                                   

5. 4 Minutes (feat. Justin Timberlake & Timbaland) – Madonna           

6. Viva La Vida – Coldplay

7. No Air (Dance Remix) – Jordin Sparks Ft. Chris Brown           

8. Work (Steve Pitron & Max Sanna Radio Edit) – Kelly Rowland           

9. The Right Life (Tiesto Remix) – Seal           

10. What Hurts The Most (Spencer & Hill Remix) – Cascada           

Let me know what you think about Music and tell me some of your favorite songs, ok? 🙂

 

I’ll pop your FAVs in my classes!  AND, drum roll pplleeassseee… In 2009 I’m launching PlayList! It will be a great new website where you can find GREAT workout music ALL THE TIME… sswweeetttt!

 

 

 

 

27 Responses to “Do You listen to MUSIC when you Workout?”


  1. 1 kay miller
    September 22, 2008 at 3:57 am

    um dude it’s kaymills who btw LOVES your blog. it’s blogtastic. anyway – um Girl Talk flippn rules the earth!!! have you heard his latest album, Feed the Animals? truly remarkable. AAANNNDD he samples about :15 seconds of everyone’s music (and i mean everyone. think James Taylor and Lil Wayne and Joni Mitchel mashed). be prepared to stand on the edge of Awesome overlooking the Canyon of Greatness!!

    xokay

  2. 2 van
    September 22, 2008 at 4:38 am

    I don’t think I can ever live without music. Shoot, I take my ipod even if I’m going outside to open up the mailbox! It definitely makes your workout a lot funnier. My top ten workout musics are:

    1. Adagio for strings (dance mix):DJ tiesto remix
    2. Encounter the Ultimate (Mortal Kombat Theme)
    3. I like your booty(But I’m not Gay):Insane-o-Flex
    4. Papercut: Linkin Park
    5. Winning Women: Rihanna and Nicole Scherzinger
    6. Club to Death(Kurayamino remix): Rob Dougsan
    7. A Song of Storm and Fire: FictionJunction feat.vocal Eri Itoh
    8. Explosive (remix): Bond
    9. London Bridge: Fergie
    10.Planet Rock (swordfish remix)-Paul Oakenfold vs. Afrika Bambaataa & Soul Sonic Force
    9.

  3. September 22, 2008 at 6:57 am

    You got some MAAAAAJJJOORRRRR LMAO cool list.

    I think it is all about the beat when working out especially the treadmill or stair master. If the song is slow I start walking like a klutz.

    My choice for heart stopping – explosive beats to run with are:

    Girls aloud – Jump

    Lady Gaga – Just Dance

    Holly Valance – Kiss Kiss

    Rihanna- Push Up On Me (Moto Blanco club mix)

    Maya – First Time (Offer Nissim club mix)

    I guess for Yoga or Pilate’s people prefer soothing music. While working or taking a bath I find myself concentrating on the lyrics. Those words can touch me so deep. It can give me courage, hope, connection to strangers who feel the same way I do.

    The power of music is extraordinary!!!

  4. 4 marya b.
    September 22, 2008 at 7:59 am

    I used to play music but finally i stop last spring.
    Just at the gym and the shuffle style of 20 differents albums/styles.I jump from Maria Callas to Digitalism and then back to Goldrapp, Najwajean or Talvin sigh to Gemma Hayes or Digitalism ( is unbelievable to hear “the Ravel’s bolero” while you are in the machines. Is said is the right rhythm for…but thats another post i guess 😉 )
    Now imagine you have to say what of your children is your favorite one ,is hard and almost impossible, my top 10 but not in the in this order:

    1- “Emerge” Fisherspooner

    2- “Get it off” Peaches

    3- “Getaway” The music

    4- “Kiss the world” Catlow

    5- “Ride white horse” Goldfrapp

    6- “Paparazzi” Lady gaga

    7- “Forever more” Moloko

    8- “I can’t wait” Soldout

    9- “Loaded” or “Stepchild” Bran Van 3000

    10- “Je veux te voir” Yelle.

    Hope you enjoy it (it would be nice to know if you try any of this songs on your workout)

  5. 5 Dilemma
    September 22, 2008 at 10:49 am

    Oooh my playlist is all about increasing the pace… then getting hot and sweaty!!!!

    1. Gimme – Britney Spears
    2 Sex is on Fire – Kings Of Leon
    3 Way I are – Timbaland (feat. kerri hilson)
    4 Misery Business – Paramore
    5 Bleed it out – Linkin Park
    6 Boys – M.I.A
    7 Turn me on – Sean Paul
    8 I get it – Chevelle
    9 Breath – Breaking Benjamin
    10 – Could this be love – Ida Corr

  6. September 22, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    WOW Guys!!! Thank YOU For the GREAT songs… I can not wait to listen to them! I LOVE hearing new music… I think it’s so fun when you’ve never heard a piece of music and it hits a nerve somewhere.
    I’m definitely going to ROCK a lot of these songs out in NYC!!! Keep’em coming, I would love to hear what else you guys like… It’s funny, I find you can tell a lot about a person by the style of music they listen too, ya know?
    Thank YOU! 🙂

  7. September 23, 2008 at 12:24 am

    Great selection of songs. Quite a few that I haven’t listened to yet – and check out http://www.inthegym.net for workout playlists of different types for different workouts.

  8. September 23, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Rebecca I am just getting to your music now!!! I love it!!! Send me more pplleeaassee 🙂 xx

  9. September 23, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Lol lacey glad you liked it.

    Plumb Featuring Sara McLachlan – Damaged

    The ones – Flawless

    Dance Party/The Ultimate Collection – Track 17/Smile Upon Your face or Queen without a crown

    Cascada- How Do You Do

    Cascada – Deeper

    Daft Punk – One More Time Club mix

    Jennifer Lopez – Lets get loud

    Livin On A prayer – KTU 2004

    Maya/Offer Nissim – That’s the way I like it

    Maya/Offer Nissim – Only You (slower)

    Stunt – Raindrops

    Sugerbabes – 1) Red Dress – 2) Round and Round

    Stonebridge feat. Therese – Put ‘Em High (Stockholm Sound Machine Mix)

    DJ Sammy – -Viva El Presente I don’t understand Spanish but the beat is rockin I promise you that…..

    Oceanlab – Satellite (Original Above and beyond remix) Techno/Trance

    Slow song to wind down or warm up = Holly valance – Naughty Girl 🙂

  10. September 23, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    FYI: The Girls Aloud song jump is the Flip and Fill remix. You can download them thru limewire and copy it on I-tunes.

    I got the urge to daaaaannnncee 🙂

  11. September 23, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    YOU are quite the DJ Rebecca! Thank YOU I can’t wait to listen to it! 🙂 I am using two of your songs next week 🙂 x

  12. September 23, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    You’re very welcome!

    Oh come on now I’m curious 🙂 You aint gonna tell me which ones? One more thing, regarding the song “just dance” of course Tony Arzadons remix is the hit.

  13. September 24, 2008 at 3:05 am

    Hahahahaa! – Lady Gaga and Rihanna My classes are going to love them! 🙂

  14. September 24, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Hear the long awaited Dance4Life album is out this Friday. You can download it from their website https://dance4life.co.uk

    Check out the track list, it sounds awesome.

    1.ATB ft Taylor Gallahan ‘Resistance’
    2 Tiësto ft. Maxi Jazz ‘Dance4Life (Freedom Mix)’
    3 Don Diablo vs Grant Jackson ‘Streets Of Fire’
    4 Judge Jules ‘Electronic Snare’
    5 Jon O’Bir ‘Ways and Means (Paul van Dyk Remix)’
    6 George Acosta ‘Dance4Revolution’
    7 Darude ft Blake Lewis ‘Selfless’
    8 JES ‘Lost In The Sound’
    9 Joop ‘Life is a Dance’
    10 Mark Norman ‘Nibiru’
    11 Jesse Voorn vs. Zoe Xenia ‘SeeMe’
    12 Filo & Peri ‘We Are’
    13 Benjamin Bates ‘On My Feet’
    14 Jonas Steur ‘Vivendi’
    15 Sied van Riel ‘E=MSied Square’
    16 Progression ‘Pinch’
    17 Leon Bolier ‘17’
    18 Turtle Man ft. Drop ‘Love Me The Way I Am’ (bonus Track)
    19 Jenerik Soulz ‘Room Service’ (Bonus Track)

    Looks really good!!

  15. 15 tara
    September 24, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    wow guys these songs are amaaazing! i’m always looking for new workout tunes so I was psyched to see such amazing lists. here are some of my favs:

    1. Kat Deluna – Whine Up
    2. Atep ft. Elephant Man – Put them Up
    3. Beenie Man – King of the Dancehall
    4. Craig David – Hot Stuff v. World Hold on (From Absolute Dance Winter 2008)
    5. Yves Larock – Rise Up
    6. Enur ft. Natasja – Calabria
    7. Outkast- Bombs over Baghdad
    8. Teddybears STHLM ft. Mad Cobra – Cobrastyle
    9. Pyar ke geet soundtrack – Dholna
    10. Gnarls Barkley – Smiley Faces
    11. Mash Ups – 80 Cent
    12. Mash Ups – Take Your Hands off My Shoulders
    13. Fulanito – “Pegate” and “Guayando” (I’m Puerto Rican and loove working out to merengue- it’s always fast and upbeat)

    also, I discovered this great podcast called podrunner: each episode is about 45min-1hr long and is all remixes and techno beats. the best thing is that you can choose the pace of your podcast (my favorite one is one that is 147bpm, which pushes me a little, but not too much on the elliptical). the episodes don’t have much top 40 stuff but they are GReat for long distance.

    ps – i LOVE your blog lacey – and this post was just the thing i was looking for since i am running out of good workout songs! thanks soooo much!

  16. 16 Eneb
    September 26, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    All I need is Janet Jackson old school or new school Janet. Pleasure Principle is one of my favs, the newer one Feedback is also good. But shes got a ton of crowd pleasing up tempo tracks, that can get you really motivated.

  17. 17 Raffy
    September 28, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Bob Sinclar – World Hold On
    This song just gets me going and going… esp. in a spin class! LOVE IT!

  18. 18 coffeebuzz
    October 2, 2008 at 3:30 am

    Girl Talk. seriously. No matter how bad of a mood I’m in or how tired I am, this music gets my heart rate up and sweating like no one’s business. Plus, it NEVER gets old since it’s such a crazy FUN mix of all kinds of music.
    it’ really just FUN with ATTITUDE.

  19. 19 Beth
    October 24, 2008 at 2:28 am

    Ok Lacey…I’ve never in my lifetime written or replied to a blog, but you’ve officially inspired me with this subject. Music can truly make or break my workout, and your tunes ROCK! I absolutely love your spin class because when your energy and your music collide, the athlete in me lights up. SUCH a great feeling 🙂

    I’m really looking forward to your playlist posting in ’09, and in the meantime here are some of my favorites…in no particular order…

    Rise Up (Radio Edit) – Yves Larock
    Ride (Tiesto Remix) – Cary Brothers
    And She Said – Lucas Prata
    In My Arms (Bimbo Jones Extended Mix) – Plumb
    Move for Me (Extended Mix) – Kaskade & Deadmau5
    Anthem (Original) [feat Eric Lumiere] – Filo & Peri
    What a Feeling (Radio Edit) – Peter Luts & Dominico
    He’s All I Want – Angel Moon
    Black & Gold (remix) – Sam Sparro
    Because of You (Josh Harris Radio Edit) – Ne-Yo
    My Love (Paul Oakenfold Radio Edit) – Justin Timberlake & TI
    Let Forever Be – The Chemical Brothers
    4 AM (Adam K Soha Mix) – Kaskade
    Shivers (Rising Star Mix) – Armin van Buuren
    Burned With Desire (Rising Star Remix) – Armin van Buuren
    I Like The Way (Radio Edit) – Bodyrockers
    Dirrty (Tracey Young Radio) – Christina Aguilera
    Without You (12″ Mix) – Dogzilla
    Brokebaack Mountain Theme: The Wings (Gabriel and Dresden’s Organized Nature Remix) [Edit] – Gustavo Santaolalla
    Deepest Blue – Deepest Blue
    Be Still (Extended) – Kaskade
    Mr. Brightside (Jacques Lu Cont’s Mix) – The Killers
    Chaos – Mute Math
    Beautiful Things (Gabriel & Dresden Radio Mix) – Andain
    My My My (StoneBridge Radio Edit) – Armand Van Helden
    Call On Me (Eric Prydz vs Retarded Funk Mix) – Eric Prydz
    All The Time (Black Mix) – Jonathan Peters & Sylver Logan Sharp
    Music (Original Radio Edit) – Jonathan Peters feat Maya Azucena
    Umbrella (Jody den Broeder Lush Club Remix) – Rihanna feat Jay-Z
    Ready, Steady, Go – Paul Oakenfold
    Don’t Stop – ATB
    Sun Is Shining – Bob Marley vs Funkstar De Luxe
    Don’t Give Up (feat Bryan Adams) [Original Mix] – Chicane
    Sing It Back – Moloko
    Talk (Jaques Lu Cont/Thin White Duke Remix) – Coldplay
    Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger – Daft Punk
    Totally Hooked (Club Mix) – DJ Peter Presta feat Bonse
    Tracking Treasure Down (Original Club Mix) – Gabriel & Dresden

    Ok, ok…that’s enough for now. Let me know what you think! (I’m happy to burn them for you if that’s easier, ha)

    Have a good night! Hope all is going well in LA 🙂

  20. 20 ellyse
    November 3, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    i have never read your blog till now and now had to put in some songs you might consider 🙂 most of them are australian artists, enjoy
    Faker-This Heart Attack (Grafton Primary Remix)
    PNAU- Embrace (Miami Horror and Fred Falke Remix)
    The Presets- This Boys In Love
    The Veronicas- Hook Me Up
    The Presets- Talk Like That
    Ida Corr and Fedde Le Grand- Let Me Think About It
    Sneaky Sound System- Kansas City
    Kaz James- Breathe
    September- Cry For You
    Rogue Traders- What Your On
    Usher- Yeah (Techno Trance Remix)
    The Ting Tings- Great DJ (Calvin Harris Remix)
    The Potbellez- Are You With Me
    Sam Sparro- Balck and Gold

  21. 21 Kelsie
    November 11, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Hey everyone!! A lot of your songs are great and I listen to them too!! My new fav. work out song is Akon- Right Now (Na Na Na)

    I also love ‘American Boy’ by Estelle

    Oh oh and my girls… PCD- Whatcha Think About That feat. Missy Elliot (prolly my absolute favorite right now!)

  22. 22 marya
    November 12, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    try the lcd soundsystem “45 33 nike original run” an awesome session just for working out or dance at home

    about you are what your hearing thing…in my case sometimes i more into the music, the rythm and then sometimes the lyrics what often im not too much agree with ( “set it of” peaches case )

    and all your preferences are great!

  23. 23 Liz
    December 13, 2008 at 4:43 am

    You ROCK !!!!!! I love your website

  24. 24 Gemma
    January 10, 2009 at 1:21 am

    i love Seal 🙂
    Veto – You Say Yes, I Say Yes , That always gets me Goin
    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=8CKWUgTdwsI

  25. 25 Brooke
    January 10, 2009 at 10:03 am

    Girl Talk is pretty fantastic, especially Bounce That.

  26. 26 Afsar
    April 11, 2009 at 7:00 am

    Your music is absolutely awesome. I am from Sri lanka and listen to the following: Yves larock – Rise up violin mix, Bob Sinclair – world hold on, david tavarese – hot summer night david tavarese, Also got an awesome version of Akon’s wanna make love right na na na a real fast version with an awesome beat. Can send you the link if you are interested. Stay in touch please…….

  27. September 15, 2013 at 9:14 am

    Hello, this weekend is good designed for me, for the reason that this time
    i am reading this enormous educational post here at my house.


Leave a Reply

Categories