19
Sep
08

What do you really want?

Do you know what you want? It sounds like an obvious question, but is it…?

A couple of weeks ago my client asked me tht exact question in regards to my personal finances… I found myself speechless- There was SILENCE. 🙂

When my client asked me about the money stuff I got nervous, a little irritated, aaannddd I felt myself wanting to change the subject immediately.  I think unconsciously I’m afraid of what I need to do in order to get my financial portfolio in order.  Money Management/ IRA/ Roth/ Sep/ Mutual Funds/ Stocks/ 401k/ keeping receipts, aaaAAHHHH!!!  Just writing this all down creates anxiety in me 🙂

Money stuff is my weakest link…  However after I talked to my client I did a lot of thinking and I found a strong correlation between “MONEY” & “FITNESS.”  I realized that the way I responded to my client in regards to money is the exact same way my personal training clients respond to me in regards to their fitness.

Here’s My Take – For my client, understanding money is something that comes naturally to him. Money is to him what Fitness is to me. He’s very calm about it, he knows exactly what to do to get the job done, he’s been working with it his entire life, annndd most importantly he loves it! That’s when I had, as Oprah would say,  an AHA! Moment 🙂

Tell me if you agree with this, ok?

I’m a FIRM believer that all of you are good at something.  YOU know how to get the job done WELL in one area of your life;  you’re an All Star.  I bet if you apply the same rules you use to be successful in that area of your life to your Fitness Routine you’ll see amazing LASTING Results.  Why?  Because using your own personal blue print to get results will aallllwwaaayyysss be better than following someone else’s plan.  If it’s true to you it’ll work, guaranteed.

Lets say you’re very good in Relationships, Friendships, or Your Job… Simply apply those success principles to your Fitness.  If you’ve found “Success” in one those areas of your life you then know that the results were not something that happened over night.  It takes time to accomplish greatness.  If you know this you also know that once you establish your own personal system for success it naturally becomes a part of who you are.  Accomplishments in the areas of your life you feel confident in are easy and fun because they’re innate; they’re a part of you, right?

Here’s an Example:  Lets say your Strength/What you’re good at is your Job.

One Stormy day there’s a catastrophe at work.  You made a HUGE error in judgement… You messed up Big Time!  How would you respond?  Would you say – “Forget it, I quit I’m not going in to work anymore, I give up!”

No way! You’d take as little time as possible to worry about the issue and instead correct the error as quickly as possible.  Then you’d move onto your next accomplishment, Bring It! Am I right?

It’s simple.  Apply that same discipline to your fitness routine.  When you miss a day at the gym, drink too much, or eat a piece of cake are you going to let that stop you from reaching your goals???  HELL NO!!! Make that the motivation that gets you to put the pieces back together as quickly as possible and move on.  The shorter the Pity Party the faster the results, period.  I don’t mean to be harsh but the way I hear people talk when they eat a cupcake gets a little out of control.  YOU are not a bad person; you only ate a cupcake.  Perspective is key.  Keep your goals at the forefront of your mind and take the necessary steps every single day to get what you want.  If you do this, you’ll get there.

There’ll be some sacrifices…  It’s not going to be a Disney Land Fairy Tale, pretty present with a bow on top, ice cream sundae deal, BUT it will be amazing.  Here’s my little Zen moment that I believe in 100%. Take it or leave it amigos! 🙂

The journey to your goals is YOUR LIFE. If you want a “happy ending” it’s up to you and only you.  Sooooo make the journey memorable, live it up!  There will be highs and lows but if you stick to the game plan, if you’re clear in knowing what you want, aaannddd YOU know in your heart you’re taking all the neccessary steps to get it’s going to happen… It’s happening!

Do you think I’m cuckoo for coco-puffs?  🙂 Do you think the way you’ve found success in other areas of your life can help you get the body of your dreams???

In a future blog I’m going to break down how my Fitness Strength applies to my workout routine and how it’s working in all the other areas of my life too.  I apply the same principles of success to my relationship with Jessica, Friendships, and my job. It works for me  annddd maybe some of the stuff I’ve learned will work for you too?

5 Responses to “What do you really want?”


  1. September 19, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    I love it, this is very inspiring! Thank you.

  2. September 19, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    This is kinda scary I feel like you were spying on my thoughts.

    I have been deeply saddened this week for gaining 3 pounds just because I cheated on a “MEAL” WTF? I was so mad about it, I gave up gym for 4 days.

    Interesting how I have control on almost everything in my life. I know what I want and never give up no matter what it takes. Unlike weight, diet, gym issues which I have no control of. I feel like a loser in this area. Even though I do like the way I look and get compliments everyday by many men and women still It depresses me when I try so hard and BAMMMMMM!!! Feels like a roller coaster 1 pound up one pound down on & on. Instead of being motivated I reason with myself that I am human and humans need to eat. Then I wake up that it is a struggle for life, and life is too short AMIGOS 🙂

    I find it hard to believe that you & Jess function normally when surviving on eggs and raw almonds. Aren’t you sad? Bitchy? Dizzy? Starving? Ready to strangle someone out of hunger?

    Must be a secret to it or you’re both just plain lucky to be satisfied by so little.

  3. 3 Angelica
    September 19, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    aaannnddd what if i eat a HUGE cupcake? 😉 we have a cupcakery over here & they’re freakin huge! (okay sorry, but i had to do the “aaannnddd” cuz you did it so many times 🙂 and i’m not really afraid of eating a cupcake…well, except for the ones that are bigger than my fist. thats insane!

    good job on the correlation with fitness.

  4. September 20, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    Hey Rebecca, I’m sorry you’ve had such a tough week. I know how frustrating it is to be 1 lb down then up believe me, but I just wanted to say that neither Lacey or myself starve ourselves. I promise you all that it’s not a couple of eggs or almonds per meal…they are the snacks that we eat in between our meals to stop ourselves getting too ravenous and to keep our metabolisms working as efficiently as possible. Our meals are big platefuls of food, we’re just careful that they are healthful foods.

    As for never being tempted by other foods or never feeling frustrated about our bodies….I never met a woman to whom that applied (and very few men as well). Of course we go through those times and some are harder than others. It’s not ‘luck’ as such, we both have a lot of motivation in the sense that for both of our professions, to be successful our bodies have to be as perfect as possible. That’s not necessarily a good thing, and certainly doesn’t apply to most of the population. It happens to be both of our jobs! We’re NEVER saying you should put the amount of pressure on yourself that you seem to be struggling with, the information we provide and discuss is based on all the questions we get and conversations we have, with people who want to know how we do it.

    If you like the way that you look, if your husband does, and if you even get many compliments from men and women who have no reason to compliment you other than because they want to ….. if all this applies then the chances are you look pretty damn good woman!! It might be worth thinking about whether your expectations and desires for your body are fair and reasonable. To me, it’s not about SIZE…it’s proportion and tone that helps a body look its best.

    Trying to force your body to maintain a BMI lower than it wants to/is healthy is to fight an uphill battle. This I know for sure. Please be kind to your body and to yourself. It works very hard for you everyday 🙂

  5. August 20, 2013 at 5:39 am

    Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger,
    and I was wondering your situation; many of us have created some nice
    practices and we are looking to swap techniques with others, why not shoot me an email if interested.


Leave a Reply

Categories