01
Sep
08

Weight Lifting 101

I hope my clients aren’t reading this (wink, wink 🙂 ).  Ok guys pay attention, I’m going to break down a weight lifting program that works for everybody…  Unless you want to be Mr. or Miss Olympia or you’re a wimp. hehe

Here we go: This is kinda old school, it’s not rocket science, annnddd it works! The body can be broken down into 7 sections. We’ll call them Lacey’s Lucky Seven 🙂  

The Lucky SEVEN

  1. Chest
  2. Back
  3. Legs
  4. Shoulders
  5. Biceps
  6. Triceps
  7. ABS

If you want to get a balanced FULL-Body workout all you have to do is hit all seven sections and you’re good to go!  Future blogs will break down what each Lucky section is all about annnddd in far future            (say Decemberish) Jessica and I are going to start including video blogs.

NOW… I’m going to give you a quick explanation of how it works. 

1st You want to ask yourself what your goals are, how much time you have, if you have enough knowledge to carry out a workout on your own???  Every person who has ever worked out didn’t just go do it.  We all asked an expert first.  When I was a senior in High School and got sent the Weight Lifting Program from my College Basketball Team I was horrified.  I immediately set up a session with a trainer at my local gym to make sure I had the correct form and if he could please explain to me what he$#*& a Skull-Crusher was?  🙂

GOAL: If you want a nice butt or tighter legs, then during your lucky 7 maybe you want to do two legs exercises, so you would be doing 8 sections total.  Or if you are a man focusing on looking HOT for the beach you might want to double up on Chest.  You can play with that… I love Shoulders, so during my workouts I usually double up on Legs, Shoulders, and Back.

TIME: In my opinion no one should ever lift weights for longer than 45mins.  Training sessions at the gym are always an hour, I know… But if you’re movin you shouldn’t need the full hour to get a GREAT workout in.  This means… no social hour, obviously if you want to chat it up with your friends that’s going to add some time to the clock.

REPS/SETS:  Now this depends on your goals, if you want to build strength then you would do less reps, For most people 12 reps is where it’s at.  Unless you hire a trainer there’s no need to get all fancy with 4reps, 30reps, 8reps whatever.  The smallest amount of reps I ever really do is 10.  And sets… just do three, don’t worry about doing 4 or 2 or 5.  3sets/12reps is a ggrreeaattt way to go.

THE ROUTINE:  The Big Three always come First, you can choose whatever order you like.

  1. Legs
  2. Chest
  3. Back

How to save time. SUPERSETS MANIA!!! My favorite way to workout, the only way to workout… 🙂

Here’s an example of my workout… You don’t need rest because you’re using opposing muscle groups.  If you’re going to rest the most you would need between sets is 1 minute. This is a QUICKIE, easy 35minute workout! 3sets/12reps – No rest necessary… In and Out, short and sweet, BRING IT.

THE QUICKIE! = ONE ENORMOUS SuperSET!

Legs – Chest –Legs – Chest – Legs (Legs done) – Back – Chest ( Chest done) – Back – Abs – Back ( Back done) – Abs – Shoulders – Abs ( Abs done) –Shoulders – Triceps – Shoulders (Shoulders done) – Triceps – Biceps – Triceps (Triceps done) – Biceps – (1min rest) – Biceps (Biceps done)!

 

Lacey’s Lucky Seven in Full-Effect… See the 7 dones above, you completed the seven sections of the body and got a balance full body burnout!

 

Wham-BAM-thank you Ma’am!  Try it OUT for yourself annnddd if you have any questions, ask away that’s what I’m here for. 

 

 

 

 

7 Responses to “Weight Lifting 101”


  1. 1 vividaudio
    September 1, 2008 at 2:45 am

    What great tips! Thank you guys so much for taking the time to give us all this help!

  2. 2 Kimi
    September 3, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    WOW! This workout is very similar to the one I use to do. But yesterday I tried yours and all I can say is : PUUUH! I was DONE! Completely. I have a lot of experience in working out because I’m doing competitive sports for about 8 years now but now after yesterday I’m really thinking about changing my programm.
    Thanks a lot for the tips Lacey 🙂 They are really helpful!
    And sorry for my bad english…

  3. 3 Jen
    September 5, 2008 at 1:01 am

    as someone that’s been through numerous training rituals and a variety of personal trainers, i have a confused view point on the full body workout. This sounds easy and fun and i am definitely going to try it, but is it something i should do every time i work out? Normally i would do a 15 – 20 min of cardio to start and then concentrate on 2 muscle groups per workout for my weight lifting. I try to get to the gym at least 3x per week… what are your thoughts?

  4. September 5, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    Hey Jen,

    Concentrating on two body parts is a cool way to workout, that’s what a lot of guys do. My Workout is by no means the end all be all. It’s just something I’ve found to be INCREDIBLY effective for me and my clients.

    It’s just a ggrreeaattt way to get the most bang for your buck. This workout can train you for strength but the main focus is to get a full-body workout that keeps you moving and your heart rate up. Training only two body parts is fine but it involves more rest and not a lot of movement in my experience.

    With my workout you are constantly moving and burning a TON of calories… Way more than you would burn with any other weight routine.

    I do this style of workout 3 times per week… I love it because I feel like I’m not only building my strength but I’m also increasing my cardio capacity… I Llloovveee the rush it gives me 🙂

    And this is just weight lifting… My cardio is a whole other story. 5 days a week I do 1hr to 2hrs of cardio/per day. As a fitness professional, I’m sorta like a professional athlete. Or at least I like to think of myself that way 😉 Anyway, I teach my classes with everything I have and to be able to do that I need to be fit…. So I do a TON of cardio on top of lifting weights. BUT that’s me and I get paid to do it 🙂 2hrs of cardio/day is not necessary to maintain a great body.

    I hope I answered your questions? And for those of you who are emailing me questions through my website please email the questions online… I want EVERYONE to be able to participate in the discussion 🙂

    Missy Meyers 🙂 I will talk about the names of different exercises in the future… I am looking to get a video blog up so I don’t have to break everything down in writing, I think giving you guys a visual is HUGE! 🙂

  5. 5 Jen
    September 5, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    Thank you Miss Lacey! I can’t wait to give your workout a try. Would you recommend using a different machine/exercise for each set of arms/legs/back/etc, or sticking with the same machine or type of exercise for the 3 sets and then just switching them each day? Also, how much cardio do you recommend per week? My goal is to drop about 10-15 pounds and tone up, but i only get to the gym 3-4x per week (usually more like 3).

  6. September 7, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    Hello Jen 🙂

    Grreeaatttt questions! I recommend using the same machine/exercise for each set for sure… In order to build muscle memory studies have shown you get the best results doing the same exercise for three sets. Then YOU can switch up the exercises the next time you workout, Does that make sense to you?

    I recommend 30min-1hr cardio no more no less if you have a goal of losing 10-15lbs annndd you can’t get to the gym more than 3x/week you need to work on the other things you do have control over… Diet is huge. You should check out

    https://sweatcity.wordpress.com/2008/08/17/how-we-eat-volumetrics/
    https://sweatcity.wordpress.com/2008/07/30/carbs-how-we-eat-them/

    These are two very helpful posts… Annddd if you really want to be disciplined I would cut back on the alcohol… Do you drink?

    Hope this helps Jen! Let me know if you have any other questions 🙂

  7. 7 Jen
    September 17, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    Hey Lacey,
    so i’ve been doing this workout for my past 2 workouts and now i have more questions.
    1. when i do my 3 sets of 12 reps on each exercise, should i be lifting heavy weights or just enough to feel resistance? I usually lift enough to totally exhaust the muscle by the 3rd set.
    2. If i cant do supersets because the gym is too crowded (and jumping between machines is impossible) will i get the same result if i just do my 3 sets of each exercise in consecutively? Like maybe do 12 reps of bicep curls with 10-20 second rests and then move on to my 3 sets of shoulders or triceps or whatever?


Leave a Reply

Categories