15
Aug
08

LACEY’S INTERVAL WORKOUT

Hellloooo Everyone!

This Workout Works! This was something I did 40lbs ago, three times per week.  Last week I wrote a blog on The 5 KEYS to My Workout (https://sweatcity.wordpress.com/2008/07/27/5-keys-to-my-workouts/ ). 

When following The Interval Workout, apply the 5 KEYS to your workout and I promise you’ll look GREAT and feel AMAZING!  It’s my belief that the MAJOR key to maintaining a successful fitness plan is finding a way to make the experience FUN.  If you enjoy it, you’ll do it!

The Interval Workout can be done with a Treadmill, a Track (outside), a jump rope, elliptical, swimming pool, on a bike or a Stairmaster.  YOU can stick to one machine or try all of them… Use what works for you.  I found the Treadmill to be the most effective for me.

YOU can do the interval workout for 20mins, 30mins, 45mins, or 1 hour.  Nothing more and nothing less… If this is your first time doing an Interval Workout I’d begin with 20mins and work your way up! 

Once I got use to this style of working out I would do it for 1 hour 3times/week.  The other two days I would do a spin class, or a non-interval elliptical/stairmaster workout.  Saturday I would do a mind-body workout – yoga, or Intensati http://www.satilife.com/. For me Sunday was always OFF.

HOW TO USE A HEART RATE MONITOR

There are 3 Heart Rate/HR ZONES you need to be aware of.  Your Resting Heart Rate/RHR, your Steady State Heart Rate/SSHR, and your Max Heart Rate/MHR.

RHR = When you put the HR monitor on and you’re resting at your desk, what does the Monitor read?  That’s your RHR, easy! 🙂 On a scale of 1-10, 1 being easy and 10 being HARD the RHR feels like a 2.

SSHR and MHR:  There’s an equation you can use to find out your SSHR and your MHR, any Personal Trainer at any gym can help you with that ((220-RHR)-YOUR AGE)* (MHR% or SSHR%) + RHR = Target HR ZONE. However, today I’ll BREAK it down so you’ll easily understand your 3 Heart Rate Zones without the equation and without question.

SSHR:  A speed you feel comfortable with on any machine.  On a scale of 1-10, 1 being easy and 10 being HARD the SSHR would feel like a 6 or 7.

I’m going to use the Treadmill as an example.   My comfortable speed on a treadmill is a level 6; the number that registers on my heart rate monitor is around150bpm-160bpm.  That is my SSHR.

MHR:  Go on a Machine and increase the speed to a level that is somewhat-to-very uncomfortable for you. If the speed you choose produces your MHR then you should only be able to run at that speed for one minute without feeling like you’re going to go NUTS. If you can hold the speed for more than 2mins it’s not your MAX speed and will not produce your MHR.  On a scale of 1-10, 1 being easy and 10 being HARD, your MHR feels like a 10.

I’m going to use the Treadmill as an example.   My MAX speed on a treadmill is a level 8.5/9.5mph; the number that registers on my heart rate monitor is around 185bpm/MHR.

THE INTERVAL WORKOUT

What do you need?  Water Bottle, Towel, Heart Rate Monitor, and Today I’m using the Treadmill

How Does It works?!

5min WARM-UP:  Walk into a JOG – Set the incline at 1, and by the end of 5 minutes your speed should be at your Steady State Speed and your SSHR.

I begin my workout by walking at a speed of 3mph… By the end of the 5min Warm-up I’m at a speed of 6mph and my SSHR is about 150bpm.

INTERVAL TIME!!!

FIRST ROUND:  1st Interval– increase the speed on the Treadmill to your MAX Speed.  Run until the number on your heart monitor matches your MHR number. NOTE – It may take you 2minutes to get there, once you hit your MHR, RUN IT OUT for 1 minute.

YOUR MHR – The MAX on your heart monitor is your absolute limit; it’s a sprint not a jog.  It’s a speed that you can not maintain for longer than 1 minute, if you can maintain it for longer than 1 minute it’s not your MAX.  My MHR is between 185-190bpm and the speed on the Treadmill is usually around 8.5mph.

RECOVERY:  After the minute, decrease the speed on the Treadmill to your Steady State Speed, run at that speed until your HR recovers to your SSHR. Once the number on your HR monitor matches your SSHR continue running at that Steady State Speed for 2mins.

The training of your heart takes awhile depending on your fitness level.  The fitter you are the quicker your HR will return to an SSHR. The more out of shape you are the longer it will take to Recover. This workout is challenging for anyone looking to change his or her fitness level.  The Interval Workout WORKS for an Olympic Athlete or a novice.

SECOND ROUND:  2nd  Interval – After you’ve recovered for 2 minutes you repeat the First Round.  You repeat this workout until you hit the 5 minute mark… When there’re 5 minutes left, begin to cool down.

5min Cool-Down:  Slow down your speed to a jog – for me the speed on the Treadmill is 5mph. Then end the workout into a walk and feel proud of what you did TODAY!

The Interval Workout

What I like best:  You see RESULTS IMMEDIATELY.  Once you do the workout for two weeks you will recover quicker, aanndd the HR Monitor assures you that you’re doing something good for your body. The HR Monitor is proof, there’s no cheating because your heart doesn’t  lie…  As the weeks go by the pounds will drop off and you’ll begin to believe anything’s possible.

The 5 KEYS that make it more than a workout– Visualization, Location, Music, and The Heart Rate Monitor.  HRM – http://www.heartratemonitorsusa.com/ I like Polar HRM, they’re inexpensive and work. The one I used for years is still on the site The Polar FS1, it’s $60.

Let me know if you have any questions or concerns?  Aannnddd Goooo For it!!! 🙂

 

 

 

12 Responses to “LACEY’S INTERVAL WORKOUT”


  1. 1 Maegan
    August 15, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    GREAT workout. I just tried it, and it kicked my butt (in a good way)! Just one question – does the warm-up count in the workout time? For example, if I go 30 minutes, should it be 5min warm-up, 20min intervals, 5min cool-down, or should it be 5-25-5?

    You can bet I’ll be incorporating this into my weekly routine. As I was sweating through it, I reminded myself of #5 on your list of workout tips from the other day – something about how you know it’s a good workout if you question whether you want to continue. I had a moment like that, but then it was on to the next interval and it felt like I was done in no time. Whew!

  2. August 15, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    I love it. Thank you. I’m not a fan of the treadmill. I can’t run in place for too long. Anxious maybe? Ha-ha… The stair master and another one involving hand/leg fast movement. (I’ll stay on that for an hour.) I have before with a friend and yes, results right away. 🙂 Thanks!

  3. August 16, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    Hi Maegan 🙂

    I’m soo happy you tried the workout! I was worried with all the SSHR and MHR people would get discouraged. It’s really not that complicated and YOU can feel it working, right?

    These are the RULES I go by because I feel it’s easier mentally for me to handle… HOWEVER you can do whatever you like depending on your mood of that day… I would always say the Warm-up counts in the Timing but the Cool-down is your prerogative.

    Here’s what I do:

    For the 20min – The 5min Warm-up counts but the 5min Cool-down doesn’t, So it’s really 15mins of INTERVALS.

    30min – The Warm-up counts Cool-down doesn’t – 25mins of INTERVALS

    45min – The Warm-up counts Cool-down doesn’t – 40mins of INTERVALS

    1 HOUR – The Warm-up counts and the Cool-Down Counts! That is a KILLER!!! So it’s really 50mins of INTERVALS

    Let me know what you did!
    Lacey 🙂

  4. 4 Julia
    August 16, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Great workout! I’ve been doing similar intervals on the treadmill with running and fast walking on an incline but it’s nice to have another variation to tackle. I tried it today and it had me sweating!

  5. 5 ariela
    August 17, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Wow, thank you so much for posting this, Lacey! I’m going to get myself an HR monitor today (I’ve been meaning to do this, anyway…) and try your interval workout later tonight at the ‘Nox!

    One or two months of good weather left (if we’re lucky!)… It’s about damn time I get back to my ultimate summer shape. : P

  6. August 18, 2008 at 12:14 am

    Heeyyy Julia and Ariela! I love that you’re doing the Workout! It’s a lot of fun… And you’ll see the results quickly if you stick to it! Let me know how it goes, annnddd if you need anything else you know where to find me 🙂 x

  7. 7 Amy
    August 24, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    Lacey – love the website/blog and the creative ideas for workouts – keep ’em coming!!
    – Amy O 😉

  8. 8 Heather
    August 25, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    Hi Lacey- I found your blog through Margarita’s blog at glamour. I tried your interval this morning and loved it! I always knew intervals were the best to increase my fitness level, but I didn’t like having to try and keep track of time. I like that you only need to watch the clock for parts of this, instead of a constant 5 minutes walk, 3 minute run type of thing. I am hoping this will get me back into workout mode now that summer is winding down!

  9. 9 Lakshman
    August 26, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    Lacey, What about spinning as a primary way of getting an interval workout? Different teachers will use different intervals, but could spinning be used in place of say the treadmill which you use in your example? Thanks, Lakshman

    p.s. we’ll miss you at Lex & 44th lunchtime!

  10. 10 veronica
    September 3, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    hey, i have a question regarding the intervals. so officially you do two minutes of sshr and 1 minute of mhr until you reach 5 minutes?

  11. September 3, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Hi Veronica,

    I’m not certain what you’re asking? If you’re asking about the 5 min warm-up that’s just a steady walk into a run.

    Once you hit the 5 minute mark you begin the interval workout.

    The First Interval – Increase your speed to a level that will help you reach your mhr, look at your heart rate monitor, once you hit your mhr on your monitor then you continue on the treadmill, bike, pool, etc for 1minute.

    NOW – Depending on your fitness level this will vary. The less fit you the faster you are going to hit your max heart rate. The more fit you are the harder it’s going to be to reach your max heart rate. For me the speed on the treadmill needs to be around a 9, for others their speed might be 7… That’s why this workout is great, it suits every individual, every level.

    After the interval you go into sshr, That means you slow down the speed or “your effort” until you can get your heart feeling easy again…. YOU do this for however long it takes. Once you hit that number on your heart rate monitor you stay there for 2 minutes.

    NOW: The less fit you are the looonnnggeerr it’s going to take to recover, the more fit you are the shorter it’s going to take to recover. That is how you monitor your progress… It’s as special as training your heart.

    Post recovery repeat the intervals until you have hit your chosen workout length, 20mins – 30mins – 45mins – 1hr, whatever tickles your pickle.

    I hope this helps Veronica and keep the questions comin, I LOVE it! 🙂

  12. March 13, 2014 at 2:49 am

    I’m curious to find out what blog platform you happen
    to be working with? I’m having some small security issues with my latest site and I would like
    to find something more secure. Do you have any recommendations?


Leave a Reply

Categories