10
Aug
08

Do I need to sweat?

Here’s something I find interesting… People who call themselves runners when all they’re really doing is jogging.  There’s a HUGE difference between running and jogging. Night and DAY.

When one jogs you can carry on a lovely conversation, one doesn’t necessarily sweat, and one tends to get passed by runners. Here’s an example of what jogging looks like on a workout machine; A Television show can easily be watched, a book/magazine read, or my personal favorite – a conversation on a cell phone or a text-o-thon.  Listen, that’s fine and dandy if one wants to kill two birds with one stone, but it ain’t really workin out… And people who call that working out are missing the point. 

I see these same people tell their friends what a great “workout” they had at the gym and then proceed to reward themselves with the breadbasket at dinner.  I hate to be the bearer of bad news but that wasn’t even a workout… They hardly burned off one roll let alone a basket full of’em.

FACT:  Going on a machine and just movin for 30mins is not going to cutt it. I’m sorry.

Let’s talk about what working out it is… Not the miracle workout, not the workout that’s going save you so you never have to workout again. Lets talk reality, because we all live in the real world right? 

People that have extraordinary bodies that you admire… Go talk to them, seriously.  These people know that there’s no magic pill, no miracle workout. These people get their asses outta of bed and run until they’re going to throw-up, they work out HARD. These people have trained themselves to enjoy that.  These people don’t eat the breadbasket… They are disciplined and work for those bodies.  

AAAaannnndddd the ones that don’t work out and don’t choose healthy life styles BUT still look freakin great on the OUTSIDE… As fitness professional I shouldn’t say this… but I care.  Those people sadly mainly women are barely eating enough to survive.  Those women consider a soy latte a meal, those women are not very happy on the inside…. For them it’s not a lot of fun to be alone or to have to look at themselves in the mirror.  I’d RATHER bust my butt in the gym then be like them any day. 

Please STOP comparing yourself to women who are miserable… pppleeasseeee.  Sometimes looking good isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, my idea of what looking good is involves feeling good too. IF you don’t feel good what’s the point? 

There’s a small percentage of about 5 on the planet that don’t have to worry about working out or eating right… Most people no matter what they tell you do one or the other – Workout (TRULY Workout) or don’t eat.

I’m going to give you my Top 5 tips for a REAL Workout… One that will give you the body you deserve.

1. You can not read a magazine article while you’re doing a workout that’s real.

2.  You should want to be wearing short sleeves or shorts, if you’re comfortable wearing long pants or a sweatshirt it better be freezing because you need to be able to move. YOU gotta move to get results.

3. Sweating is key… Everyone sweats.  You need to get your body moving to a point where you need a towel.

4.  You should feel your body… When you put your hand on your chest you should be able to feel your heart beating through your skin.  If you don’t feel your heart beating rapidly at one point during your workout it wasn’t a GREAT workout that gets mmaaajjorrr results.

5.  I truly believe a workout that gets results involves a point where you question if you want to go on any longer.  If it’s easy/breezy the entire time you’re not giving what you need to give to get the results you want.

This workout is about a SEXY body… losing those extra 5, 10, 20, 30, whatever pounds. There‘s a time and a place for Yoga and Pilates but those two workouts will NOT get you a tight piece of ass you are looking for… YUP, you heard it here first.

Madonna worked her ass off before she considered yoga… That woman does 1 hour of yoga and 15 hours of dancing and taking over the world. That woman never stops.

I want you all to have the body of your dreams… I’m going to talk about my cardio workout in the next week. Know that anything worth having isn’t easy, if it were easy it wouldn’t be worth it.

How does that make you feel?

 

 

 

9 Responses to “Do I need to sweat?”


  1. 1 Jenny Joseph
    August 10, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    I love this post (not to mention all of the ones that came before it). Thanks Lacey…it made me eager to wake up for my workout tomorrow morning. Thanks for being an inspiration. See you around the gym!

  2. 2 sarah
    August 11, 2008 at 1:17 am

    that is not entirely true at all. I know countless of number of people who have achieved their ideal bodies by eating a healthy diet and doing yoga. you do not need to run an hour everyday to be in shape or to lose weight. also, it’s not for everyone to push yourself to the level where you are over-worked, it can cause more problems. You are better off walking for longer on the treadmill than you are to run. running is really really bad for women when it’s on a treadmill or any hard surface like that.

  3. August 11, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Thank you for your comment Sarah! I’m so happy you voiced your opinion… That’s exactly why we’re doing this blog; I’m so interested to hear everyone’s story.

    I want you to know that I totally appreciate and respect people you practice Yoga, in fact Jessica was a HUGE yogi for awhile. There are 3 areas of “Fitness” that are vital in my opinion: Flexibility – Strength – Cardio Strength. Yoga touches on the first two beautifully but does not touch on the third. I’m a firm believer that having strong cardio strength/endurance is paramount for your body and your spirit.

    I touched on running but I did not mean that running is the only form of exercise… YOU can do whatever inspires you to get moving. Annnddd I’m not promoting people to be “over-worked.” I’m encouraging people to take themselves outside of their comfort zones in hopes that, for that one minute or that 30seconds, they will inspire themselves to believe that the limits they’ve set for themselves are only in their heads.

    One of my favorite quotes – “To see what few have seen, you must go where few have gone.”

    The main message of the Sweat Blog – I don’t care what you do to get your sweat on… Do whatever feels right to you. Try not to compare yourself to others because you don’t know how they got to where they are today. And the bottom line is it doesn’t matter what you look like on the outside, It doesn’t matter if you’re a size 2 or a size 16…. If you don’t feel good on the inside the outside will never be enough. Running for 2 hours isn’t going to fill the void and balancing on your head isn’t going to do it either.

    Thank you Sarah! You got me thinking on this rainy New York afternoon 🙂

  4. 4 monika
    August 11, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    Great post Lacey, thanks for pointing out all the important misconceptions. I’m not sure if I’m ready for running, but I’d like to know what kind of cardio work-out options I have. I do a lot of yoga and although I do sweat a lot, I probably don’t reach my target heart rate in order to actually burn fat. It’s true that I feel pretty strong and very flexible and relaxed, but if I’d like to actually shape my body a bit more, I think I do need something in addition to yoga. I’m looking forward to the next post about your own work out routine!

  5. 5 rebecca
    August 11, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    I was told by a nutritionist once that It is best to do specific work outs in comparison to your blood type. Have you heard of it? Certain blood types are good for treadmill weights and others are good for yoga etc.

    Personally I think Madonna overdid it. Last but not least I lost 4 pounds this past week cause I followed your advice from the beginning. I told all my friends and family about this must see blog 🙂

    THANK YOU A MILLION TIMES OVER!

  6. 6 Anon
    August 22, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    I just happened to find this blog today. I usually never comment on these things, but both of your posts are SO inspiring. Thank you so much! I feel better about myself and am now itching to make it to the gym after work today!

  7. 7 maria
    September 5, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    (Please excuse my English, I’m from Germany and haven’t been studying English for quite a while.)

    Though I think that, because I haven’t been training for quite a while, I tend to be a jogging person right now (And I hate it! The feeling that my feet can’t go any faster is just awkward!) I just wanna say thank you for pointing out the difference between jogging and running people.

    But I have a personal question: I read once that the combination of running and yoga is a really great one (though I must admit, I can’t remember why) – what would you say about that? I’ve been injured and can’t move my left foot properly, so it’s hard for me to find a sport that I actually CAN do, without aching too much or hurting myself seriously.

    Thanks again, Maria

  8. December 29, 2010 at 2:34 am

    I don’t sweat but I workout almost everyday, it’s really great

    Gowhara
    Thanks

  9. July 14, 2013 at 9:46 am

    As the drinking water windows in the front should really stop overfilling, we have to confess that definitely
    one sleepy morning I became not paying interest and forgot which I got therefore filled it alongside drinking water the evening before.
    What Exactly Is the ideal drink of coffee minus the appropriate coffee maker?
    When you take the effort to pick out the finest high quality of coffee beans, find your chosen cook, and discover the perfect mixes, you really need
    to get a hold of the coffee maker that will .


Leave a Reply

Categories