02
Aug
08

What’s the Deal with 3pm?

Talk to me… Yesterday I was cleaning my room and I came across some Fitness/Life journals.  When I began my fitness quest several years ago I kept lots of journals to monitor my progress.   As I was looking through several of my journals I recognized a MAJOR pattern that occurs in my life. For some reason at 3pm life gets a little challenging?

Sooooo here’s what I’m thinking, let me know if you agree with my theory or think it’s bollocks (as Jessica would say 🙂 ).

Everyone knows that we’re never really happy when we first wake up in the morning… Not a lot of people jump outta bed and say – YYYEESSS!!!!!  A lot of times we wake up and say something kinda negative, right?  And if we’re crabby in the early morning our excuse is, “oh it’s just early.”

By around 8.30am or depending on our own personal schedules somehow we get ourselves out of it and we’re kinda pumped for the day. We know LUNCH is right around the corner and everybody loves a good lunch break. We come back from lunch, check some emails, BLAST out some work… And then it hits us.

3pm… No one talks about it but everyone knows it.  I like to call it the “3pm SLUMP.”  It’s that time in the day where we’re not half way done because it’s only 3!  3-5 is one of the most under rated times of the day, it’s the worst.  We start questioning ourselves, doubting our lives, planning escape routes… We start to think there must be something wrong with us, why are we upset it’s only 3? 

BBUUUTTTT, have no fear 5pm is HERE!  All the sudden something hits YOU, you get a quick boost of energy, right? You know you’re almost done with your day… You get kind of excited 🙂 YOU finish things up and get the heck out of dodge as quickly as possible! Am I alone here, or do you agree with my 3pm SLUMP Theory?

I know we often question ourselves right before we hit the pillow… but everyone knows that. We call it the late night Munchies, or the late night anxiety blahhhssss….

I’m here to say, Don’t under estimate the power of the 3pm SLUMP!  Almost everyone feels it – Need not fear, Time will pass, it will be 5pm soon and everything’s gonna be all right, ok?! 

Do you feel the 3pm SLUMP on a regular too?

BLOGS, Coming Soon – Cardio INTERVAL Workouts!, Why keep a journal?, Wake-up bad talk, and much much more…. Oooohhh we’re just getting started! 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

 

10 Responses to “What’s the Deal with 3pm?”


  1. 1 Mollie
    August 5, 2008 at 2:31 am

    Lacey, I completely appreciate your post about the afternoon slump! While mine happens a little later, say 4PM, I definitely can have minor “crashes” as my afternoon wraps itself up.

    I get up SO early and workout, and get such an endorphin high that even when I am eating right and well rested I somehow feel like I manage my energy levels poorly where come 4’ish they are depleted. Then all of a sudden I am looking for caffeine, or sugar, or just plain cranky. Maybe you have some tricks for sort of evening out your energy levels?

    Either way I think it is interesting and generally people just brush it off and blame their mood on “something happening at work” or “at home” instead of looking inside of themselves and realizing that mood and energy are created internally not externally.

  2. August 5, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Thank YOU for your comment Mollie, I was starting to think I’m the only one out there that feels this way 🙂 What you said is incredibly insightful… Often times we get overly angry at things not because of the “thing,” but because we’re simply exhausted or hungry.

    Energy levels is a GREAT Blog topic. My question to you is what time do you wake up in the morning? I wake up at 5.15am everyday. At lunchtime I often get a coffee to give me an added boost, I looovvveeee me some STARBUCKS.

    There are mixed reviews on caffeine, some people think it’s the devil others say it adds to a workout (raising your basal metabolic rate allowing for increase calorie burn and performance).

    Personally… I do not think it’s the devil.

    Thank YOU Mollie… You gave me a future blog topic. Keep plugging through your 4pm slump and know that you’re not alone! 🙂

  3. 3 ashley
    August 5, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    I feel exactly the same way. Mine comes around 3:30ish. What I do is turn to food 😦 I start looking for food even though I’m not hungry. I need it to keep me awake and focused at work. Do you have any tips for staying away from snacking when bored and hitting “the slump” at work!!???

  4. August 5, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    You use the food to keep you awake? hhmmm, my question to you is what time do you go to bed… And if you’re falling asleep on the job what part of your work isn’t inspiring you?

    I think those two questions are key before you move forward…

    Here’s what I do… When I start hitting the slump or negative thoughts start to creep up on me… Sometimes I just look over at the clock and it makes me laugh. My body is sooo use to it’s routine it literally happens around 3 or 4 everyday. Soooo… I made it a game, I challenged myself to see how long I could go… I literally pushed the negativity out of me. Now I know at 3-4… I’m just a little tired, and that’s that. And it doesn’t cause anymore drama… I literally train my brain all the time to be positive.

    I encourage YOU to meet with a nutritionist to see if you’re getting enough food in ya. It’s ok to eat a little something every 3-4 hours if you’re eating the right stuff and have proper portion control. I eat all the time but in very small portions…

    VERY IMPORTANT: Snacks aren’t bad if they’re healthy… have a bag of raw almonds, some apples, a spoon full-a-peanut butter, a hard boiled egg, not all at once of course BUT enjoy each of these individual snacks during your day. I try to always have a bag of raw almonds in my bag in case of emergency.

    When at work… Try to find a way to use the work to keep you occupied OR ask your boss for a new project OR create an outside project that keeps your imagination going and your mind away from food.

    I hope this helps! 🙂

  5. 5 mr pinstripes
    August 6, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    i love 5pm. it’s when happy hour starts. frozen margaritas for 3 dollars. salt on the rim for replenishing electorlytes, fresh lime to scare off scurvy. it’s the orginal gatoraid. i think daily schedules are just a grind and it sucks. waking up sucks if it’s not “natural” then commuting etc. when i lived on a beach and walked everywhere, a nap in my own bed or lunch on my porch was only 10 minutes way so i never felt so stressed. in nyc sometimes you can’t even find a damn place to sit and eat your lunch, it’s ridiculous

  6. August 6, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    I think YOU are hilarious Mr. Pinstripes… Keep it COMING! 🙂 I know…. I looovveee living in the Village BUT I can count on my fingers how many restaurants have outdoor sitting…. RIDICULOUSCITY.

  7. 7 Esmeralda
    September 6, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    That is a very interesting theory, and a funny one at that…but very true!! Lately it seems to be 3PM ALL THE TIME FOR ME!! Hate it…but it is all good I have to figure out how to get “my clock” back on track…Well…you can either look at this as a problem or look at it as an opportunity to fix something you have been meaning to fix or change something you need to work on…and it is far easier to view things as problems because we don’t like to deal with them…we would much rather victimize ourselves…it is easier and requires less energy (you would think that, but its emotionally draining to be mopey all the time!!) some think that it is harder to “solve” the issue…but “Pushing the wheel barrel is easy; thinking about it is the hard part”…Doing something is easy…physically going through the motions is easy…when we think about actually having to do it…now that is where the problem starts! So…stop thinking about it and just do it right???…and yes it is a heck of a lot easier said than done, but I will tell you that when you realize what you have done and you are doing whatever it is that needs to be done you will think to yourself..hey this is not that bad…

  8. September 7, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    I love the way you think Esmeralda, YOU ROCK! 🙂

  9. 9 Heather
    February 24, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    Look at the time… its right after 3pm now… and I feel drag… BAD! It’s weird that you mention we question ourselves at this hour. Next time I catch myself questioning my life or feel a litle anxious I will take note of the time – if it’s around this time I will know that I’m just hallucinating. And yes, at 5pm the thought I had earlier about taking a nap once I get home will have been over-shouted by the call of the gym… ahh… 🙂

  10. March 30, 2013 at 8:57 am

    By presenting ‘the family’ as a result of they permit the
    addict becomes a requirement. Why not throw a crock pot?

    For more information regarding cornhole game The Bible tells us that Satan is more
    powerful than we are, but to show their love and commitment to support them and them alone.

    These homeopathic medicines for weight loss will indicate they correct the causes behind obesity.


Leave a Reply

Categories