22
Jul
08

What’s Cool?

 

I used to date a girl that thought being cool was getting wasted every weekend and having lots of friends to call and text. I used to think being in a relationship meant I was cool. Some people think being single is cool. Some people think having lots of money is cool while other people think having money is unimportant…

What’s cool…? I know that some of my friends who work in fashion think it’s cool not to say “hi” when they walk past people they know on the street… They won’t even talk to people who don’t wear designer labels or look “a certain way.”

I know some of my guy AND girl friends think it’s cool to have open relationships, party all the time, and date two girls at once… Is that cool?

What’s cool anyway? It’s tricky because what’s cool to me might not be cool to you.  Some people think it’s cool to swear a lot, I don’t. 

I think people’s perception of  COOLNESS is often a side effect due to the environment they spend the majority of their time in. Jessica and I work in similar industries, FASHION & FITNESS, so for us working out and eating right is HUGE. Image is huge… We both think it’s very important to not only to walk the walk but also talk the talk… We say what we do, that’s important to us.

I understand that it’s uncomfortable to go against the grain of the environment you’re in. In fact it’s sometimes viewed as being uncool… God Forbid.

Here’s what’s cool to me…  I think people who are going for their dreams are cool, people who strive to be the best they can be every single day, people who push themselves outside of the box, people who want to make a difference with their lives and the world, people who add a smile to other people’s faces, people who keep their word, people who don’t give up… I don’t care what you do for a living, or who you are; I don’t care if you have 10 million dollars in the bank or if you’re in debt. 

Cool isn’t about that for me… I find that people try to have lots of “things,” and know the “right” people. They chase after what they think will make them cool… But once they get everything they’ve been chasing they still feel empty… Cool isn’t something you can buy… Cool is something you feel. 

Being true to your soul, I believe that creates lasting COOL… Being true to who you are every single day, doing the best you can do with your life without lying and manipulating situations, that’s cool to me.  That’s powerful.

What’s cool to you?

Worth the Read- If you’d like to learn more about Chasing Cool… My Friend and Stylist to “The Cool,” Annabel Tollman, recommends The Book – CHASING COOL, by Noah Kerner, Gene Pressman, and Andrew Essex

 

3 Responses to “What’s Cool?”


  1. July 23, 2008 at 8:16 am

    “The purpose of life is not to be happy – but to matter, to be productive, to be useful, to have it make some difference that you have lived at all.” ~Leo Rosten

    I agree of your version of cool. I don’t like to judge others, but it happens in everything and it can’t be helped. I think judging others for the right reasons though and on what matters…

    In our society it is important to keep with appearances. Everything from our character, to what we wear is an appearance, but know what should be looked at a person’s character… Who they are on the within. “Cool isn’t something you can buy… Cool is something you feel.” Exactly! 🙂

    Another good read: “Seven Steps to Inner Power,” by Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim (first women Grandmaster martial artist.)

  2. July 23, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    Your sexy arms!! That’s what’s cool 🙂

    Yes it is cool not to be judged and go after your dreams. Unfortunately it is not cool the way most of us live our lives to impress others. Loved your post, it got me thinking that I need to make some serious changes.

  3. 3 K-Lo
    July 24, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Love this ”cool” blog. Definitely feeling the coolness around here too! It won’t stop raining! It has it’s own beauty though. Crisp and refreshing. Nothing like sitting inside with a screen door listening to the rain outside. Now that is my idea of totally COOL!!!! Love you girl! Muah


Leave a Reply

Categories