04
Jan
09

Don’t Doubt It!

img_7118(This was my FIRST Major Fitness Presentation… I was freaked out of my mind, but I did it anyway!)  

The Holidays are over… It’s a New Year, YYIIIPPPEEEEEE!!!!

I feel like “The New Year” carries a lot of pressure with it, don’t you?   You have the resolutions.  YOU have to change something about yourself.  You have to take your career, your fitness, and your relationship to the next level, right?!  Wwheeeewwwww…. I found myself on January 3rd, 2009 having a little bit of an anxiety attack  :)

I said to Jessica, “I don’t know how I’m going to top 2008.” The past year of my life has been an EXPLOSION of success both personally and professionally.  Jessica and I got engaged, annnnd my company is doing remarkably well.  A LOT has happened… 

The doubt started to creep in and I began to freak out a little.  What if I can’t maintain this level of success?  I feel like a lot of people get anxiety with the coming of a New Year.  For me the passing of a year is very meaningful. I take those 365 days seriously :)  Every day matters, every moment matters.  When the doubt comes in the most crucial thing I do is recognize it.  Doubt takes many forms.  One is fear that you’ll hurt yourself by going forward.  Another form of doubt is feeling that you’ve misunderstood your life and that you’re constantly making a fundamental mistake.

When I recognize “I’m doubting” I make a mental note/point to talk myself through it before it snowballs into a massive catastrophizing event. Examples of scenarios that bring about the 5-letter word

Having a baby, starting a new job, getting in a relationship, starting a new fitness routine, starting a company, writing a book…  

All can be scary, BUT everyone gets scared… Believe it BABY! :) Being scared and feeling doubt are a part of the process. They are as fundamental to everyday life as breathing.  You’re never going to rid yourself of these feelings so my stand is that we need to equip ourselves with the tools to battle them.  The alternative is just too painful.  If you let the fear of failure debilitate you, you will never find out how powerful you are. If you believe in your doubts you will plateau in your life.

Obama was scared to death when he delivered his acceptance speech in Chicago. You may not have seen it, but he was.  I was scared when I first moved to New York.  Lots of people are scared to speak in front of groups.  I’m sure Madonna freaks out before she performs in front of millions of people.

I don’t think it’s so much about being scared, doubtful, or fearful… I think it’s about how we choose to respond to that feeling.  We have two choices – We can let that doubt/fear paralyze us OR we can let it catalyze us. 

What do you want out of the next 362 days?  What excites you? What have you not gone after because you’ve doubted your capabilities? Why do you want it? Is it for Freedom, Power, Love? 

The questions that we ask ourselves are massively important.  Ask yourself what you want out of your life, and don’t doubt the answer.  It’s never to late to go after your answer.

In my next Blog I’m going to give you tools to help you battle your doubts.  When you face your fears you will find your true power and effortlessly achieve your 2009 goals.  I’m going to share with you what works for me and hopefully it will help you too.

HAPPY 2009!

Lacey

9 Responses to “Don’t Doubt It!”


  1. 1 amy
    January 5, 2009 at 1:44 am

    UM…… ARE YOU READING MY MIND…. I HAVE BEEN SPENDING MY NIGHT WITH THE WORD DOUBT….. I LOVE YOU AND LOVE READING THE BLOG… I THINK I MIGHT READ IT ABOUT 20 TIMES OVER IN THE NEXT WEEK… you are going to excel further and further my friend!

  2. 2 Angelica
    January 5, 2009 at 1:49 am

    just what i needed to hear today :) thanks!

  3. 3 Rebecca
    January 5, 2009 at 2:53 am

    The photos you put up are almost as raw as your intense posts.

    I could never guess your doubts cause the look on your face spells “I AM LACY THE FITNESS GURU & I AM DAMN GOOD AT WHAT I DO”. In all fairness we all have our struggling moments but we never stop dreaming cause a mind troubled by doubt cannot focus on the course to victory. You are truly blessed with such talent you know it is in your blood. So if you continue doing your thing everything will fall into it’s place, if it slows down you can always continue & still do something on the side.

    Have some questions: 1) Jessica mentioned a “weighted medicine ball” What is that? 2) What do you think of kickboxing? Just bought one at home and it feels so freakin good after boxing all my frustrations out of my system :) Is that another “get into shape” method for women?

    XOXO
    R

  4. 4 Annie
    January 5, 2009 at 2:58 am

    You are coming at it from a perfect perspective, Lacey! You WILL make your 2009 remarkable!

  5. 5 chickenisgoodtome
    January 5, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    lacey stone usher model is so outrageous and hot. here’s her interview for afterellen’s sitehttp://www.afterellen.com/people/2008/9/jessicaclark

    The first picture, God have mercy

  6. January 5, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Thank You GUYS… You’re words definitely brightened up my Monday! And easy Chicken soup, I know the article, “that usher model” is my fiance :) HA! She’s not bad to look at I guess :) Lord have mercy is right! I praise Jesus every night xx

  7. 7 taylor
    January 5, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    Who taught you how to inspire? it’s inspiring ;)

  8. January 6, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Awww Taylor… that’s so nice of you to write, Thank you x

  9. January 10, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    WOW! I’ve just stumbled onto your blog and it was just what i needed to read today!! This is one of those post that i can read over and over again, finding something new and inspiring each time! Just what i needed to find to help start the new year!
    This is my new favorite place to stop before i head to the studio….looking forward to the next blog!
    Cheers,
    M


Leave a Reply

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers